You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 April 2019

About the service:

Park View Nursing Home is a 'care home'. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The home is registered to provide accommodation for up to 14 people with learning or physical disabilities. At the time of our inspection there were 13 people living at the service.

At the time of our inspection there was an experienced registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Rating at last inspection:

At our last inspection of the service on 1 July 2017 we rated the service overall as 'Good' and 'Requires Improvement' in Effective. The service at that time was not consistently effective. Further improvements were required with regard to how the principles of the Mental Capacity Act (20015) and Deprivation of Liberty’s Safeguards were applied.

During this inspection, we found that there were systems in place which ensured the service complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA 2005). People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People’s experience of using the service:

Risks to people were assessed and managed safely. Medicines were managed, administered and stored safely. People were protected from the risk of abuse and staff knew what action to take to ensure people's safety.

Accidents and incidents were recorded and reported in a timely manner. There was evidence that they were monitored and lessons were learned and shared with staff appropriately.

There were safe staff recruitment practices in place and appropriate numbers of staff to meet people's needs in a timely manner. There were systems in place to ensure staff were inducted into the service appropriately. Staff received training, supervision and appraisals.

People's nutritional needs and preferences were met.

People had access to health and social care professionals when required and staff worked well with external agencies.

People were treated respectfully and staff ensured their privacy and dignity was maintained.

People's diverse needs were met and staff were committed to supporting people to meet their needs with regard to their disability, race, religion, sexual orientation and gender.

People were involved in making decisions about their care.

There was a wide range of activities available to meet people's interests and needs.

The service provided care and support to people at the end of their lives. People's needs were reviewed and monitored on a regular basis.

There were systems in place to monitor the quality of the service provided. People's views about the service were sought and considered.

Concerns were discussed relating to the cleanliness of some parts of the service. We saw evidence that the home had an action plan in place to address the issues identified in a recent audit. The provider gave assurance that the refurbishment programme would address the key concerns identified in this, relating primarily to new bathroom provision.

The provider worked in partnership with the local community and other professionals to ensure people received appropriate levels of care and support to meet their needs.

Why we inspected:

This planned inspection took place on 19 February 2019 and was unannounced.

Follow up:

We will continue to monitor intelligence we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If any concerning information

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 April 2019

The service was safe

Details are in our Safe findings below

Effective

Good

Updated 10 April 2019

The service was effective

Details are in our Effective findings below

Caring

Good

Updated 10 April 2019

The service was caring

Details are in our Caring findings below

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 April 2019

The service was responsive

Details are in our Responsive findings below

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 April 2019

The service was well-led

Details are in our Well-Led findings below.