You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 17 August 2018

Greenfield Care Home is a residential care home for nine adults with learning difficulties. The provider is also registered to provide personal care from Greenfield Care Home to people living in their own homes. At the time of the inspection, one person living in an adjoining house was temporarily receiving support with their medicine management. We did not inspect this part of the service at this time.

At our last full comprehensive inspection in September 2016 we rated the service overall as requires improvement and there was one breach of regulation with regard to Good Governance. We inspected against that breach in February 2017 and the provider had met the breach and the overall rating for the home was Good.

At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

People remained safe at the home. Staff could explain to us how to keep people safe from abuse and neglect. People had suitable risk assessments in place. The provider managed risks associated with the premises and equipment well. There were enough staff at the home to meet people’s needs. Recruitment practices remained safe. Medicines continued to be administered safely. The checks we made confirmed that people were receiving their medicines as prescribed by staff qualified to administer medicines.

People continued to be supported by staff who received appropriate training and support. Staff had the skills, experience and a good understanding of how to meet people’s needs.

Staff were providing support in line with the Mental Capacity Act 2005. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice. We saw that staff encouraged people to make their own decisions and gave them the encouragement, time and support to do so.

People were supported to eat and drink sufficient amounts to meet their needs. People had very good access to a range of healthcare professionals.

The staff were caring. The atmosphere in the home was calm and friendly. Staff took their time and gave people encouragement whilst supporting them. Throughout the inspection we saw that people had the privacy they needed and were treated with dignity and respect by staff.

People’s needs were assessed before they stayed at the home and support was planned and delivered in response to their needs. The variety of activities on offer had increased and photos showed that people were enjoying the different things to do. The provider had arrangements in place to respond appropriately to people’s concerns and complaints.

We observed during our visit that management were approachable and responsive to staff and people’s needs. Systems were in place to monitor and improve the quality of the service. Audits of the premises helped ensure the premises and people were kept safe.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 17 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 17 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 17 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 17 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 17 August 2018

The service remains Good.