You are here

Abbeyfield Care Home Clitheroe Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 October 2017

We carried out an inspection of Abbeyfield Care Home on 6 and 7 September 2017, the first day was unannounced.

Abbeyfield Care Home is a purpose built care home located in a residential area on the outskirts of Clitheroe. The service is owned and operated by Abbeyfield Lancashire Extra Care Society Limited. There is a committee which oversees the running of the service and comprises of trustees and volunteers. The service is affiliated to the National Abbeyfield Society and as such is a registered charity.

The service is registered to provide care and accommodation for up to 40 older people including people living with a dementia. Nursing care was not provided. The accommodation is provided over two floors. A passenger lift is available for access between the floors. The accommodation on the ground floor is divided into two separate areas. There are two lounges, two conservatories, a lounge/dining room with a kitchenette and a separate dining room. There is also lounge area and hairdressing room on the first floor. There are bedrooms located on both floors, all are single and have en-suite facilities. There are enclosed garden/patio areas to the front and rear of the premises, garden furniture is provided. There are several car parking spaces to the side of the building. When we visited there were 36 people accommodated at the service.

The service was managed by a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons.’ Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection on 13, 14 and 18 July 2016 the overall rating of the service was Requires Improvement. We found the provider was in breach of three regulations of the Health and Social Care Act (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. The breaches related to the provider not having proper oversight of Abbeyfield Care Home, including monitoring and checking systems. A lack of appropriate staff recruitment checks and the unsafe management of medicines. We asked the provider to make improvements and received an action plan indicating how and when they would meet the relevant legal requirements. At this inspection we found sufficient improvements had been made on these matters.

During this inspection we found there were no breaches of the regulations of the Health and Social Care Act (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. We found progress to continue making improvements at the service was ongoing and planned for. However we have made a recommendation about processes for assessing and managing risks to individuals.

There was an open and friendly atmosphere at the service. We found there were management and leadership arrangements in place to support the day to day running of the service.

People made positive comments about the caring attitude of staff. During the inspection we observed staff interacting with people in a kind, pleasant and friendly manner and being respectful of people's choices and opinions.

People told us they felt safe at the service. Staff were aware of the signs and indicators of abuse and they knew what to do if they had any concerns about people’s wellbeing and safety.

Arrangements were in place to ensure staff were properly checked before working at the service. There were enough staff available to provide care and support. There were systems in place to ensure all staff received regular training and supervision.

Processes were in place to assess and plan for people’s needs before they moved into the service. Everyone had a care plan which included information on their needs, likes, dislikes and preferences.

People were supported with their healthcare needs and received appropriate medical attention. Changes in people’s health and well-being were monitored and responded to.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 14 October 2017

The service was safe.

We found there were safe processes in place to support people with their medicines.

Staff recruitment included the relevant character checks and there were enough staff available to provide safe care and support.

Staff knew how to report any concerns regarding possible abuse and were aware of the safeguarding procedures.

Satisfactory risk assessments and risk management plans were in place to help protect people from unnecessary harm. Processes were in place to maintain a safe environment for people who used the service.

Effective

Good

Updated 14 October 2017

People told us they enjoyed the food, their preferred meal choices and dietary needs were known and catered for. People's health and wellbeing was monitored and they were supported to access healthcare services when necessary.

People were supported to make their own decisions. The service was meeting the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards.

Processes were in place to develop and support staff in carrying out their roles and responsibilities.

Caring

Good

Updated 14 October 2017

The service was caring.

We found the service had a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. People were supported to maintain contact with families and friends.

People made positive comments about the kind, caring attitude and friendliness of staff. We observed respectful and sensitive interactions between people using the service and staff.

People were supported to be as independent as possible. Their dignity, individuality and personal privacy was respected.

Responsive

Good

Updated 14 October 2017

The service was responsive.

Processes were in place to find out about people’s individual needs, abilities and preferences. People were involved with planning and reviewing their care and support.

People were offered a range of individual and group activities. Residents meetings were held to involve people in making group choices and decisions.

There were processes in place to manage and respond to complaints, concerns and any general dissatisfaction with the service.

Well-led

Good

Updated 14 October 2017

The service was well-led.

People made positive comments about the management and leadership arrangements at the service. The registered manager and staff were keen to provide a good service and make improvements.

Staff were enthusiastic and positive about their work. They indicated the managers were supportive and approachable.

There were processes in place to monitor the quality of people’s experience at the service.