You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 17 May 2018

We inspected Victoria Nursing Home on the 23 and 24 April 2018; the first day of inspection was unannounced. The second day was via agreement. At the time of this inspection there were 15 people living at the home.

Victoria Nursing Home is a care home. The service provides care to people who have enduring mental health needs. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Victoria Nursing home is situated in the Victoria Park area of central Manchester, close to local shops and several bus routes. The home is situated within its own grounds with large gardens and adequate parking. Accommodation was provided over three floors with all communal areas situated on the ground floor.

At the last inspection on 6 and 8 February 2017, the service was rated as requires improvement. We found four breaches of the regulations, as improvements were needed in safe recruitment of staff, we saw that people's dignity was not always maintained; we found risks to the premises were not monitored and the registered provider had not ensured good governance in the home.

At the time of this inspection the home was managed by a registered manager who was registered with CQC in. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have a legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Staff and the management team understood their responsibilities with regard to safeguarding and had been trained in safeguarding vulnerable adults. People we spoke with and told us they felt safe at the home.

People told us staff were caring towards them. Staff we spoke with understood the importance of high standards of care to give people meaningful lives.

We looked around the building and found it had been maintained, was clean and hygienic and a safe place for people to live. We found equipment had been serviced and maintained as required. However, we found further work to home’s electrics was required, to ensure the safety of the home was not compromised. We were provided with assurances this work would soon be completed.

Where potential risks had been identified an assessment had been completed to keep people as safe as possible. Accidents and incidents were logged and investigated with appropriate action taken to help keep people safe. Health and safety checks were completed and procedures were in place to deal with emergency situations.

Medicines were managed safely and administered to people in a safe and caring way. We saw that people received their medicines at the correct times.

Staff understood how people consented to the care they provided and encouraged people to make decisions about their lives. Care plans reflected that care was being delivered within the framework of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards had been applied for when necessary.

We found there were sufficient care staff deployed to provide people's care in a timely manner. Recruitment checks were carried out to ensure that staff were suitable to work with vulnerable people.

People told us they were happy with the variety and choice of meals available to them. We saw regular snacks and drinks were provided between meals to ensure people received adequate nutrition and hydration.

Staff received the support and training they required. Records confirmed training, supervisions and appraisals were up to date and forward planned. Staff told us they felt supported by the management team at the service.

Staff regularly reviewed people's health. Staff responded to changes in people's needs by making appropriate referrals to their GP or other healthcare pr

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 17 May 2018

The service was safe.

People were protected from the risk of abuse through care staff having an awareness and understanding of how to protect vulnerable people.

Medicines were securely stored, were safely administered and accurately recorded.

There were appropriate assessments in place to support people where risks to health had been identified. Checks were carried out on equipment and the premises to reduce risk.

Effective

Good

Updated 17 May 2018

The service was effective.

Staff had completed an induction and supervision when they started work and received training relevant to the needs of the people using the service.

People had access to community and specialist health support ensuring health needs were met.

The registered manager and staff demonstrated a clear understanding of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards and acted according to this legislation.

Caring

Good

Updated 17 May 2018

The service was caring.

People told us staff were kind and caring.

People's equality and diversity needs were respected and staff were aware of what was important to people.

Information and records were kept confidential and secure.

Responsive

Good

Updated 17 May 2018

The service was responsive.

People benefited from care which was personalised to their needs.

We found people were encouraged to participate in activities at the home.

People told us they would be confident to raise a complaint if they felt this was necessary. We saw appropriate actions had been taken to investigate complaints.

Well-led

Good

Updated 17 May 2018

The service was well-led.

There was a clear quality assurance system that was used to monitor the safety and effectiveness of the service.

Staff we spoke with told us the managers were approachable and they felt supported in their role.

People and staff benefited from an environment which was open and promoted a culture where people and staff could express their views.