You are here

Archived: Cornerways Residential Home Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 6 November 2015

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 8 April 2015. At this inspection we found a breach of The Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. This was in relation to three regulations: Regulation 15 HSCA (RA) 2014 - Premises and equipment. The provider had failed to protect people against the risks associated with in adequate maintenance of the environment. Regulation 11 HSCA (RA) 2014 - Need for consent. The provider had failed to obtain consent from relevant people about their care. And Regulation 17 HSCA (RA) 2014 - Good Governance. The provider had failed to assess, monitor and improve the quality and safety of the service.

This meant people were at risk of receiving unsafe care and treatment because of the risks associated with these three breaches of the regulations.

We also made two recommendations at our inspection on 8 April 2015. We recommended the provider: Reviewed staffing levels, specifically ancillary hours at the home to ensure that the care people received was not compromised, because care staff were also expected to carry out laundry, domestic and kitchen duties during their shift. And reviewed people’s care plans to ensure that the home is able to meet people’s care needs and that risk assessments and management plans for all risks identified were recorded in the care plans.

After the comprehensive inspection, the provider wrote to us with an action plan to say what they would do to meet legal requirements, in relation to the breaches and the recommendations noted above.

We undertook this unannounced focused inspection on 5 October 2015, to check that the provider had followed their action plan and to confirm that they now met with the legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to these requirements. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for Cornerways Residential Home on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Cornerways Residential Home is owned by Amocura Limited and is registered to provide personal care for up to 20 people, some of whom may have dementia. Cornerways does not provide nursing care. The home was previously a private dwelling and retains many of the original features. It is situated in a residential area of Harrogate and has parking for several cars to the front of the property, otherwise there is on street parking available.

The home employs a registered manager who had worked at the home for over twelve years. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Since the last comprehensive inspection on 8 April 2015, the provider had taken action to address the environmental shortfalls, consent was being sought from people about their care and auditing had begun to assess and monitor the running of the service. The provider had also addressed the recommendations made about providing additional staffing in the laundry and kitchen and care plans had been rewritten to include relevant information about each individual. Care plans were now person centred and up to date. Risks to people’s health and wellbeing were also being identified.

Staff followed the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 to ensure that people’s rights were protected where they were unable to make decisions for themselves.

We received information from Healthwatch. They are an independent body who hold key information about the local views and experiences of people receiving care. CQC has a statutory duty to work with Healthwatch to take account of their views and to consider any concerns that may have been raised with them about this service. We also consulted the Local Authority to see if they had any concerns about the service. No concerns were raised by either Healthwatch or the Local Authority.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 6 November 2015

We found that action had been taken to improve safety in the home.

The home followed safe recruitment practices to ensure staff working at the service were suitable.

There were sufficient care staff employed by the home. The provider had improved the staffing arrangements in the home by employing a laundry assistant, a kitchen assistant and domestic staff hours had been altered to provide an overlap, so that deep cleaning could be carried out. This meant that care staff could focus on delivering care only.

The home’s environment had improved; new furniture and soft furnishings had been provided. There had also been a ‘'decluttering’ and plans were in place to provide a wet room in a bathroom which was now outdated and not fit for purpose.

We could not improve the rating for safe from requires improvement because to do so requires consistent good practice over time. We will check this during our next planned comprehensive inspection.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 6 November 2015

We found that action had been taken to improve the effectiveness of the service. Improvements had been made to the care plans and risk assessments to ensure there was consistency to people’s care.

People had been supported to seek their consent to decisions about their care, in line with legislation and guidance.

People who lived at the home and who were unable to make their own decisions were protected by the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and Deprivation of Liberty safeguards. Staff understood how to apply for an authorisation to deprive someone of their liberty.

People living at the home were supported to eat and drink and maintain a well-balanced diet, although care staff were no longer put under additional pressure, due to the suitable numbers of ancillary staff being employed.

We could not improve the rating for effective from requires improvement because to do so requires consistent good practice over time. We will check this during our next planned comprehensive inspection. The service was not effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 6 November 2015

Responsive

Good

Updated 6 November 2015

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 6 November 2015

We found that action had been taken to improve how the service was being managed.

Improvements had been made to the quality assurance systems to monitor the service, which ensured that the home remained a safe and pleasant place for people to live.

The management of the service had been improved and people told us that there was now an improved culture for people living at the home. Relatives and staff contributed by giving their views about the running of the home, which made sure that the service continued to deliver good quality care.

The registered manager told us they had a good oversight of the service, now they had returned from a period of absence and staff told us that things had improved since our last inspection in April 2015, for the benefit of people using the service and their own working arrangements.

We could not improve the rating for effective from requires improvement because to do so requires consistent good practice over time. We will check this during our next planned comprehensive inspection.