You are here

The Broughtons Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 16 February 2019

About the service:

The Broughtons provides residential care for up to 42 elderly people. The home is a detached building, situated in a residential area of Salford and is close to local shops and public transport. Parking facilities are available to the front and side of the building.

Rating at last inspection:

Our last inspection of The Broughtons was in October 2017. The overall rating was Requires Improvement and this report was published on 25 November 2017.

People’s experience of using this service at this inspection:

During this inspection of The Broughtons on 13 and 17 December 2018, we found improvements were required to the safe handling of people’s medication and obtaining consent from people regarding potential restrictive practices. Quality assurance systems also needed to be improved to ensure the concerns from this inspection were identified and acted upon in a timely manner. The principles of the mental capacity act (MCA) were not always being adhered to.

Staff were recruited safely and there were sufficient numbers of staff to care for people safely.

The building and the premises were well maintained, with all relevant safety checks being undertaken.

Appropriate systems were in place to monitor accidents and incidents.

Staff received the necessary induction, training, supervision and appraisal to support them in their roles.

People received enough to eat and drink and received appropriate support at meal times.

People living at the home and visiting relatives made positive comments about the care provided at the home.

People said they felt treated with dignity and respect and that staff promoted their independence as required.

Appropriate systems were in place regarding end of life care

Complaints were handled appropriately. Compliments were also maintained about the quality of service provided.

There were a range of activities available for people to participate in.

We received positive feedback from everybody we spoke with about management and leadership within the home.

More information is in detailed findings below. We identified three breaches of the Health and Social Care Act (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 relating to medication, consent and governance. Details of action we have asked the provider to take can be found at the end of this report.

Why we inspected:

This inspection was part of our scheduled plan of visiting services to check the safety and quality of care people received. Inspection timescales are based on the rating awarded at the last inspection and any information and intelligence received since we inspected. As we rated the service Requires Improvement at the last inspection, this meant we needed to re-inspect within approximately 12 months of this date.

Follow up:

We will continue to monitor information and intelligence we receive about the home to ensure good quality is provided to people. We will return to re-inspect in line with our inspection timescales for Requires Improvement services, however if any information of concern is received, we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 16 February 2019

Not all aspects of the service were safe.

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 16 February 2019

Not all aspects of the service were effective.

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 16 February 2019

The service was Caring

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 16 February 2019

The service was responsive

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 16 February 2019

Not all aspects of the service were well-led

Details are in our well-led findings below.