You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 15 December 2020

About the service

Catherine House is registered to provide accommodation and nursing and personal care for up to five people with learning disabilities and/or autism. The service is in a large detached building located in the market town of Taunton. There were three people living at the service at the time of the inspection.

This targeted inspection took place on 28 October 2020.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

Prior to the inspection concerns had been raised about staffing levels at the home not being enough to ensure people’s needs were safely met. We found that there were enough staff allocated on the rota to meet people’s needs.

People were supported by staff who had undergone a robust recruitment process.

People received good quality food which they were involved in choosing.

This service is registered by an individual provider who is not required to have a registered manager. The provider does not manage the day to day operation of the service, they delegate responsibilities to the manager and the health and safety and maintenance co-ordinator. We found the provider had systems in place to ensure they had a good oversight of the service. The provider was reviewing their on-call arrangements to ensure staff had support when needed.

As part of this inspection we looked at the infection control and prevention measures in place. This was conducted as part of our thematic review of infection control and prevention in care homes. At the inspection we found that staff were not following up to date infection prevention and control guidance to help people to stay safe. We raised this with the provider, and they put in place new infection control measures to keep people safe. We have made a recommendation that the provider keep up to date with current infection prevention and control guidance from the government.

Rating at last inspection

The last rating for this service was Good (published 12 September 2018).

Why we inspected

CQC have introduced targeted inspections to follow up on Warning Notices or to check specific concerns. They do not look at an entire key question, only the part of the key question we are specifically concerned about. Targeted inspections do not change the rating from the previous inspection. This is because they do not assess all areas of a key question.

We undertook this targeted inspection to follow up on specific concerns which we had received about the service. The inspection was prompted due to concerns received about staffing levels, food quality and choice, emergency on call arrangements and the provider’s oversight and delegation of responsibility. A decision was made for us to inspect and examine those risks. We found no evidence during this inspection that people were at risk of harm from these concerns. We found the provider had taken action to mitigate most of these risks and were taking action to address the other concerns. The overall rating for the service has not changed following this targeted inspection and remains Good.

We looked at infection prevention and control measures under the Safe key question. We look at this in all care home inspections even if no concerns or risks have been identified. This is to provide assurance that the service can respond to coronavirus and other infection outbreaks effectively.

Please see the safe, effective and well led section of this full report. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for Catherine House on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Follow up

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 15 December 2020

At our last inspection we rated this key question Good. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.

Effective

Good

Updated 15 December 2020

At our last inspection we rated this key question Good. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.

Caring

Good

Updated 12 September 2018

The service was caring.

People's privacy and dignity was respected.

People were supported by staff who were kind and caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 12 September 2018

The service was responsive.

People's care and support was personalised to them and adapted to meet their changing needs.

People had opportunities to take part in activities and social events they were interested in.

Well-led

Good

Updated 15 December 2020

At our last inspection we rated this key question Good. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.