You are here

Cliffe Vale Residential Home Limited Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 June 2017

This inspection took place on 10 May 2017 and was unannounced. The last inspection took place on 17 May 2016 and at that time we found the home was not in breach of any Regulations but was rated ‘required improvement’ This inspection was carried out to see whether improvements had been made and/or sustained since the last inspection. At this inspection we found the provider had made and sustained improvements in the required areas.

Cliffe Vale is located close to the centre of Shipley. The home provides personal care to a maximum of 27 people and caters predominantly for older people and people living with dementia. It is a detached property and provides accommodation on three floors. The home does not have a passenger lift, though there are a number of stair lifts which provide access to the upper floors.

The home had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us they felt the service was safe. Staff had a good understanding of safeguarding and knew how to report any concerns about people's safety and welfare. We found safeguarding concerns were being referred to the local safeguarding team and the Commission.

The registered manager and provider followed a robust recruitment procedure to ensure new staff were suitable to work with vulnerable people. Staff training and support had improved and the majority of staff were up to date with training on safe working practices. Staff supervision and appraisals were in place.

Risks to individuals were identified and we saw action was being taken to manage risks. We found people's medicines were managed safely. Although records did not always show when creams and lotions known as ‘topical medicines’ were applied and how often; this issue was addressed by the registered manager during the inspection.

The home was working in accordance with the Mental Capacity Act which meant people's rights were protected. We found people’s health care was met and relevant referrals to health professionals were made when needed.

Staff responded to people’s individual needs and delivered personalised care. People’s care plans and other records showed their needs had been initially assessed and care was planned. We found care plans had been reviewed and updated.

People had their nutritional needs met and were offered a choice at every meal time. People were offered a varied diet and were provided with sufficient drinks and snacks. People with specific nutritional needs received support in line with their care plan.

A range of activities were offered for people to participate in and people told us they enjoyed these.

There were systems in place to ensure complaints and concerns were fully investigated. The manager had dealt appropriately with all complaints received.

The premises and equipment were appropriately maintained and we noted safety checks were carried out regularly.

People, relatives and staff spoken with had confidence in the registered manager and felt the home had clear leadership. We found there were effective systems to assess and monitor the quality of the service, which included feedback from people living in the home and their relatives.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 June 2017

The service was safe.

People told us they felt safe. Staff understood safeguarding issues and how to protect people from any harm or abuse.

There were sufficient numbers of staff to meet the needs of people living in the home.

Recruitment records demonstrated there were systems in place to employ staff who were suitable to work with vulnerable people.

People were supported with their medicines in a safe way by staff.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 June 2017

The service was effective.

The service was working in accordance with the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act which helped to make sure people's rights were protected and promoted.

People were supported to have an adequate dietary intake and their preferences were catered for.

We found staff had received appropriate induction to work. Regular supervision took place and staff training was kept up to date.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 June 2017

The service was caring.

People were supported by staff that were caring and compassionate.

Staff knew about people's individual likes, dislikes and preferences.

Relatives could visit at any time and told us they were always made welcome.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 June 2017

The service was responsive.

Care plans were person centred and reflected people's individual needs. This enabled staff to know how people wanted to be supported.

People were supported to take part in a range of activities in the home.

People knew how to complain and said they would raise issues if the need arose. Previous complaints had been responded to appropriately and in a timely manner.

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 June 2017

The service was well-led.

Staff we spoke with told us morale was good and they enjoyed their work. People we spoke with told us they were well cared for.

The registered manager was approachable if people or staff had any concerns or suggestions.

There were systems in place to monitor the quality of the service which included regular audits and feedback from people living in the home and their relatives.