You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at North Ferriby Nursing Home. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 15 March 2017

This inspection took place on 17 January 2017 and was unannounced. The inspection was to check that the registered provider was now meeting legal requirements we had identified at the last inspection on 29 October 2015. We asked the registered provider to take action to improve: safe care and treatment; and nutritional and hydration needs.

During this inspection we found that the registered provider had taken action to improve practices within the service in line with their action plan from February 2016. We found these improvements were sufficient to meet the requirements of Regulation 12 and 14. This meant the service had met the breaches of regulation imposed at the previous inspection.

North Ferriby Nursing Home is located in the village of North Ferriby, in the East Riding of Yorkshire. The service provides accommodation, nursing care and residential care for 38 people over the age of 18 who may have a physical disability, a condition related to old age or who are living with dementia. At the time of our inspection there were 31 people using the service.

The registered provider is required to have a registered manager in post and there was a registered manager at this service. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us that they felt safe living at the home. We found that staff had a good knowledge of how to keep people safe from harm and that there were enough staff to meet people’s needs. Staff had been employed following appropriate recruitment and selection processes. People received their medicines on time and as prescribed by their GP.

People had their health and social care needs assessed and plans of care were developed to guide staff in how to support people. The plans of care were individualised to include preferences, likes and dislikes. People who used the service received additional care and treatment from health professionals based in the community.

People spoken with said staff were caring and they were happy with the care they received. They had access to community facilities and most participated in the activities provided in the service.

Staff received a range of training opportunities and told us they were supported so they could deliver effective care; this included staff supervision, appraisals and staff meetings.

The registered manager monitored the quality of the service, supported the staff team and ensured that people who used the service were able to make suggestions and raise concerns.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 15 March 2017

The service was safe.

There were processes in place to help make sure the people who used the service were protected from the risk of abuse and the staff demonstrated a good understanding of safeguarding adults' procedures.

Staff had been employed following robust recruitment and selection processes. Sufficient staff were employed to meet the needs of people who used the service.

Medicines were administered safely by staff and the arrangements for ordering, storage, administration and recording were robust.

Effective

Good

Updated 15 March 2017

The service was effective.

Staff received relevant training and supervision to enable them to feel confident in providing effective care for people. They were aware of the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

People reported the food was good. They said they had a choice of quality food. We saw people were provided with appropriate assistance and support and staff understood people’s nutritional needs. People told us that care was good and they received appropriate healthcare support.

The Care Quality Commission is required by law to monitor the operation of the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards. We found the service to be meeting the requirements of the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS).

Caring

Good

Updated 15 March 2017

The service was caring.

The people who used the service had a good relationship with the staff who showed patience and gave encouragement when supporting individuals with their daily routines.

We saw that people’s privacy and dignity was respected by the staff and this was confirmed by the people who we spoke with.

The people who used the service were included in making decisions about their care whenever this was possible and we saw that they were consulted about their day to day needs.

Responsive

Good

Updated 15 March 2017

The service was responsive.

Care plans were in place outlining people’s care and support needs. The staff were knowledgeable about each person’s support needs, their interests and preferences in order to provide a personalised service.

The people who used the service were able to make choices and decisions about their lives. This helped them to be in control and to be as independent as possible.

The people who used the service were able to make suggestions and raise concerns or complaints about the service they received. These were listened to and action was taken to address them.

Well-led

Good

Updated 15 March 2017

The service was well-led.

The registered manager made themselves available to people and staff. People who used the service said they could chat to the registered manager and their views were listened to.

Staff were supported by the registered manager. There was open communication within the staff team and staff felt comfortable discussing any concerns with the registered manager.

The registered manager regularly checked the quality of the service provided and made sure people were happy with the service they received.