You are here

Yew Tree Residential Care Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 17 July 2018

Yew Tree Residential Care Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The home is registered to provide accommodation for up to 18 people, including older people and people living with dementia.

We inspected the service on 30 May and 5 June 2018. The first day of our inspection was unannounced. On the first day of our inspection there were 11 people living in the home.

There was a registered manager in post at the time of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers (the ‘provider’) they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

In October 2015 we conducted our first comprehensive inspection of the home and rated it as Good. On this inspection we were pleased to find overall service quality had been maintained and in some areas improved. The rating remains as Good.

Staff worked well together in a mutually supportive way and communicated effectively, internally and externally. Training and supervision systems were in place to provide staff with the knowledge and skills they required to meet people’s needs effectively. There were sufficient staff to meet people’s care and support needs without rushing, although the registered manager agreed to keep staffing levels under careful review if occupancy increased in the future. Staff provided end of life care in a sensitive and person-centred way.

Staff were kind and attentive in their approach. People were provided with food and drink of good quality that met their individual needs and preferences. The physical environment and facilities in the home reflected people’s requirements. People were provided with physical and mental stimulation appropriate to their needs.

People’s medicines were managed safely and staff worked closely with local healthcare services to ensure people had access to any specialist support they required. Systems were in place to ensure effective infection prevention and control.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the home supported this practice. At the time of our inspection the provider had been granted Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) authorisations for one person living in the care home and was waiting for a further three applications to be assessed by the local authority.

The registered manager was well known to, and respected by, everyone connected to the home. Throughout our inspection she demonstrated an admirably open and reflective approach. A range of audits was in place to monitor the quality and safety of service provision. People’s individual risk assessments were reviewed and updated to take account of changes in their needs. Staff knew how to recognise and report any concerns to keep people safe from harm. There was evidence of some organisational learning from significant incidents and events. Formal complaints were rare and any informal concerns were handled effectively. She had taken action to address the area for improvement identified at our last inspection.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 17 July 2018

The service remained safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 17 July 2018

The service remained effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 17 July 2018

The service remained caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 17 July 2018

The service was responsive.

Since our last inspection action had been taken to provide people with physical and mental stimulation appropriate to their needs.

People�s individual care plans were well-organised and kept under regular review by senior staff.

Staff provided compassionate care for people at the end of their life.

People knew how to raise concerns or complaints and were confident that the provider would respond effectively.

Well-led

Good

Updated 17 July 2018

The service remained well-led.