You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 1 November 2017

This unannounced inspection took place on 4 October 2017.

Fairfield Nursing Home is a nursing home registered for up to 29 people. The home is a detached property set in its own grounds in a quiet residential area. At the last inspection in October 2015 we found that the home was providing a good service in all areas. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

The home provided a comfortable, safe and well-maintained environment for people to live in. People’s medicines were managed safely.

There were enough staff to meet people’s needs. New staff were recruited safely and all staff received regular training relevant to their work.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. The service worked within the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act.

Everyone we spoke with was happy with the meals provided. The meals were presented well and people received the support they required with their meal. People we spoke with said how kind, considerate and polite all members of staff were.

People's care and support needs were assessed and plans put in place for how their needs should be met. These were individualised and covered all aspects of a person's needs including physical, mental health and social needs.

The home's complaints procedure was displayed in the entrance area and provided details about how, and to whom, complaints should be addressed. The manager maintained detailed complaints records.

The home had a manager who was registered with CQC. People told us that the manager was approachable and they considered her a good leader. We saw that people had completed satisfaction surveys. Auditing systems were used to monitor the quality and effectiveness of the service.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 1 November 2017

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 1 November 2017

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 1 November 2017

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 1 November 2017

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 1 November 2017

The service remains Good.