You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 December 2017

Rosebank is a care home. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Rosebank Care Home has 26 beds providing accommodation and personal care to older people with a variety of support needs including those living with dementia. It is located in its own grounds in a residential area, close to Sheffield city centre. At the time of our inspection 24 people were using the service.

This inspection took place on 21 November 2017 and was unannounced. This meant the staff and registered provider did not know we would be visiting.

At the last inspection on 6 September 2016 we found medicines were not always safely and securely stored and there were discrepancies in the count of one person’s medicine. This was a breach of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014, in regard to Regulation 12: Safe care and treatment. The registered provider sent us a report of the actions they would take to meet the legal requirements of these regulations. We checked whether this regulation had been met as part of this inspection. We saw that sufficient action had been taken to meet the requirements of the regulation.

There was a manager at the service who was registered with the CQC. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People living at the home and their relatives spoken with were very positive about their experience of living at Rosebank. They told us they, or their family member, felt safe and were happy.

Staff were aware of safeguarding procedures and knew what to do if an allegation was made or they suspected abuse.

We found systems were in place to make sure people received their medicines safely.

Staff recruitment procedures ensured people’s safety was promoted.

There were sufficient staff to meet people’s needs safely and effectively.

We did not find any concerns about the cleanliness of the service. This was supported by people and relatives we spoke with.

Regular checks of the building were carried out to keep people safe and the service well maintained.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People made positive comments about the quality of food provided and told us their preferences and dietary needs were accommodated.

We saw staff had been provided with relevant training, supervision and appraisal so they had the skills they needed to undertake their role.

People were treated with dignity and respect and their privacy was protected. All the people living at Rosebank, their relatives and visiting health professionals we spoke with made positive comments about the care provided by staff.

We found people’s care plans and risk assessments were reviewed regularly and in response to any change in needs.

We saw people participated in a range of daily activities both in and outside of the home which were meaningful and promoted independence.

People said they could speak with the registered manager, registered provider or staff if they had any worries or concerns and they would be listened to.

There were effective systems in place to monitor and improve the quality of the service provided. Regular checks and audits were undertaken to make sure full and safe procedures were adhered to.

Staff, people living at Rosebank, their relatives and professionals said the registered manager was approachable and very supportive, and communic

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 December 2017

The service was safe.

People told us they felt safe. Safeguarding procedures were robust and staff understood how to safeguard people they supported.

Appropriate arrangements were in place for the safe administration and disposal of medicines.

There were sufficient numbers of staff available to keep people safe. The staff recruitment procedures and checks in operation promoted people’s safety.

People had individual risk assessments and all identified risks were assessed and ways to reduce the likelihood of the person being harmed were considered.

Effective

Good

Updated 8 December 2017

The service was effective.

Staff were appropriately trained and supervised to provide care and support to people who used the service.

Staff knew about people’s health needs and personal preferences and give people as much choice and control as possible.

People were provided with access to relevant health professionals to support their health needs.

The home was well maintained and comfortably furnished.

Caring

Good

Updated 8 December 2017

The service was caring.

The relationships we saw between people who used the service and staff were warm and friendly.

People’s privacy, dignity and independence were maintained by staff who knew people’s preferences well.

All of the people living at Rosebank, their relatives and visiting health professionals we spoke with made positive comments about the care provided by staff.

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 December 2017

The service was responsive.

People’s care plans contained a range of information and had been reviewed to keep them up to date.

People living at the home and their relatives were confident in reporting concerns to the registered manager and felt they would be listened to.

A range of activities were provided for people which were meaningful and promoted independence.

Well-led

Good

Updated 8 December 2017

The service was well-led.

There were effective systems in place to monitor and improve the quality of the service provided. Regular checks and audits were undertaken to make sure full and safe procedures were adhered to.

Staff, people living at Rosebank, their relatives and professionals said the registered manager was approachable and very supportive, and communication was good within the service.