You are here

Archived: Fulwood Lodge Care Home Requires improvement

We have removed an inspection report for Fulwood Lodge Care Home from 23 May 2019. The removal of the report is not related to the provider or the quality of this service. We found an issue with some of the information gathered by an individual who supported our inspection. We will reinspect this service as soon as possible and publish a new inspection report.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 15 May 2018

This inspection took place on 23 March 2018 and was unannounced. This meant no-one at the service knew we were planning to visit.

We checked progress the registered provider had made following our inspection on 5 July 2017 when we found breaches of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. These were in; Regulation 10, Dignity and respect; and Regulation 17, Good governance. We also found a breach of Regulation 18 of the Care Quality Commission (Registration) Regulations 2009, Notification of other incidents.

Following the last inspection, we asked the registered provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do and by when to improve the key questions of safe, effective, responsive, caring and well-led to at least good. We found improvements had been made and the registered provider was no longer in breach of regulations.

Fulwood Lodge is a ‘care home.’ People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Fulwood Lodge is a 42 bed home providing personal and nursing care to older people with a range of support needs, including people living with dementia. There were 27 people living at Fulwood Lodge at the time of this inspection.

There was a registered manager employed at the service. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People we spoke with told us there had not been a wide range of activities or outings in recent months. However, people also told us the newly employed activity coordinator was committed to introducing activities that were enjoyable and beneficial for everyone’s health and wellbeing. We recommend the registered provider ensures these recent improvements are sustained and developed to meet everyone’s needs.

People were usually supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Staff clearly knew people and their likes and dislikes, however on occasion staff did not ask for consent or give people options before providing care and support. We spoke with registered manager and registered provider about this.

Staff understood what it meant to protect people from abuse. They told us they were confident any concerns they raised would be taken seriously by the registered manager.

There were enough staff available to ensure people’s care and support needs were met. The registered provider had effective recruitment procedures in place to make sure staff had the required skills and were of suitable character and background.

Medicines were stored safely and securely, and procedures were in place to ensure people received their medicines as prescribed.

We saw the premises were clean and well maintained.

People and their relatives told us they enjoyed the food served at Fulwood Lodge, which we saw took into account their dietary needs.

Positive and supportive relationships had been developed between people, their relatives, and staff. People told us they were treated with dignity and respect.

People’s care records reflected the person’s current health and social care needs. We saw these were evaluated monthly by staff and we were told six monthly reviews were to be introduced involving the person and their relatives.

There was an up to date complaints policy and procedure clearly displayed in the reception area. People, their relatives and staff told us the registered manager was approachable and responsive to any issues raised.

People living at Fulwood L

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 15 May 2018

The service was safe.

People told us they felt safe living at Fulwood Lodge. There were systems in place to recognise and respond to any allegations of abuse. Staff had received training in this area.

There were sufficient numbers of staff employed to meet people�s care and support needs. Recruitment procedures made sure staff were of suitable character and background.

We found systems were in place to make sure medicines were safely stored and that people received their medicines as prescribed.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 15 May 2018

The service was not always effective.

The service was meeting the requirements of the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards. However, staff did not always ask for consent before providing care and support.

People were assisted to maintain their health and wellbeing by being provided with a balanced diet and having access to a range of health and social care professionals.

Staff were provided with relevant training and supervision to make sure they had the right skills and knowledge to support people.

Caring

Good

Updated 15 May 2018

The service was caring.

People and their relatives told us the staff were kind and caring.

People�s privacy and dignity was respected and promoted.

Information and support was provided in ways to help people understand the care and support available to them.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 15 May 2018

The service was not always responsive.

There had not been a wide range of activities or outings available to people to participate in. A new activity coordinator had recently been employed to rectify this.

People�s care records reflected the person�s current health and social care needs. We saw these were evaluated monthly by staff and we were told six monthly reviews were to be introduced involving the person and their relatives.

The service had an up to date complaints policy and procedure. People and their relatives told us they were confident in reporting any concerns to the registered manager.

Well-led

Good

Updated 15 May 2018

The service was well-led.

The service had quality assurance systems in place and up to date policies and procedures which reflected current legislation and good practice guidance.

People and staff told us the registered manager was supportive and approachable.

People living at Fulwood Lodge and staff were regularly asked for their views. We saw any concerns and suggestions were considered and acted upon.