You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 1 September 2017

This inspection was undertaken on 11 and 13 July 2017. We gave the provider two days’ notice that we would be visiting their head office. We gave the provider notice as we wanted to make sure the registered manager was available on the day of our inspection.

At our last inspection in February 2016 the service was rated ‘Good’. At this inspection we found the service remained ‘Good’.

North London Asian Care is a non-profit making registered charity that provides personal care to people living in their own homes. It provides care and support to adults of all ages, but most of the people using the service at the time of our inspection were older people. The service specialises in providing a service for people from an Asian background but also supports people from all ethnic groups. At the time of the inspection there were 115 people using the service.

There was a registered manager in post at the time of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us they felt safe with the staff who supported them in their home and they were treated with kindness. Staff understood their responsibilities in keeping people safe from bullying, harassment, avoidable harm and potential abuse.

Potential risks to people’s safety had been identified and ways to mitigate these risks had been discussed with the person and recorded so staff knew how to support the person safely.

People told us that staff came at the time they were supposed to or they would phone to say they were running late.

Recruitment systems were robust to ensure that only the right staff were recruited to keep people safe.

Staff we spoke with had a good knowledge of the medicines that people they visited were taking. People told us they were satisfied with the way their medicines were managed.

People who used the service and their relatives were positive about the staff and told us they had confidence in their abilities and staff told us that they were provided with a good level of training in the areas they needed in order to support people effectively.

Staff offered choices to people as they were supporting them and people told us they felt involved in making decisions about their care.

People told us they were happy with the support they received with eating and drinking and staff were aware of people’s dietary requirements and preferences.

People confirmed that they were involved as much as they wanted to be in the planning of their care and support. Care plans included the views of people using the service and their relatives. Relatives told us they were kept up to date about any changes by staff at the office.

People and their relatives told us the management and staff were flexible and quick to respond to any changes in their needs. Care plans reflected how people were supported to receive care and treatment in accordance with their current needs and preferences.

People told us they had no complaints about the service but said they felt able to raise any concerns without worry.

The service had a number of quality monitoring systems including yearly surveys for people using the service and their relatives. People we spoke with confirmed that they were asked about the quality of the service and had made comments about this. They felt the management listened to them and took their views into account in order to improve service delivery.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 1 September 2017

The service continued to be safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 1 September 2017

The service continued to be effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 1 September 2017

The service continued to be caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 1 September 2017

The service continued to be responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 1 September 2017

The service continued to be well-led.