You are here

Archived: Claremont Hospital

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 15 February 2011
Date of Publication: 4 March 2011
Inspection Report published 4 March 2011 PDF

Contents menu

People should get safe and appropriate care that meets their needs and supports their rights (outcome 4)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Experience effective, safe and appropriate care, treatment and support that meets their needs and protects their rights.

How this check was done

Our judgement

We found people who use services generally experience effective, safe and appropriate care, treatment and support that meets their needs and protects their rights. No gaps in assurance or areas of concern were identified during the assessment of this outcome for this location.

User experience

Our quality and risk profile (QRP) for this location contained 11 items of information of this outcome, of which the majority were positively rated. Two positive data items were comments from patients made via NHS Choices intelligence:

"Very impressed with all aspect from admission to theatre and after care very professional. As a NHS employee myself I would definitely recommend this hospital to anyone who needs any form of treatment" (dated 15-04-2010).

"Extremely professional surgeon, anaesthetist, theatre staff and physio" (dated 15-03-2010). This person also listed some dislikes in relation to this outcome, including, "Nursing seemed sub standard". The patient went on to explain how their post operative pain had been poorly managed along with some other issues referred to in outcome eight.

The hospital extracts monthly patient comments (positive and negative) from the patient surveys and these were submitted as supporting evidence. A small number of examples are set out below relevant to this outcome.

"Staff very attentive, patient and professional. This element stood out from other hospitals I have attended" (July 2010).

"An all around excellent service – I would like to commend the student nurse [X] who was very helpful and attentive during my recovery" (July 2010).

"Instead of listening to saws and hammers during the operation, which sometimes rattle your teeth, earphones with music, preferably to your choice which be much more pleasant and in-keeping with a hospital of this quality" (July 2010).

"Very friendly and highly professional" (August 2010).

"Staff and doctors very caring and diligent" (August 2010).

"Nursing staff were excellent and professional" (August 2010).

"The overall friendliness and efficiency of all the staff was fantastic. Could not be improved!" (September 2010).

"All staff were caring, considerate and attentive. An excellent stay. Thank you" (October 2010).

"I was admitted as an NHS patient. Very pleased with the overall speediness of getting an appointment, seeing the consultant and for having my treatment. My overall experience was excellent and to a very high standard" (October 2010). "Particularly impressed with the nursing staff – the nurse that took my details was very thorough, efficient and professional. She took the time to listen to my concerns and explained the procedure thoroughly, ensuring that I understood what was happening and the pain relief available if needed" (November 2010).

On the site visit performed 15 February 2011 we found patients we talked to had been very happy with their nursing care, felt staff was always friendly and helpful and had found staff had sufficient time to meet their needs.

"Can't recommend enough – always a smile on everybody's face, whatever the time day or night".

"Cant speak highly enough [of nursing and all aspects of care by everyone]" "[Nurses] in and out all the time to check you okay and if you need them [by pressing buzzer] they come straight away"

Other evidence

The provider declared compliance with this outcome at this location at registration with CQC October 2010.

As part of the assessment of this location the provider submitted a 'provider compliance assessment' record for this outcome. The hospital set out information, which explained in detail how this outcome was being met, with references to supporting evidence. The majority of care at this location is centred on planned surgical procedures. The hospital has a range of policies and procedures required for this outcome and it was explained that care follows care pathways, which include pre-admission assessment where lifestyle choices are also discussed and discharge planning commences. The pathway includes expected outcomes, which variances can be recorded and audited. We found the hospital has a major accident plan and liaises with relevant external partners who are involved in emergency preparedness.

The hospital also voluntarily provided additional supporting evidence to demonstrate compliance with this outcome, for example, care pathway variances audits and procedures appropriate to this outcome.

As part of the planned review some external bodies were also contacted to contribute to this review. NHS Sheffield stated in a letter received 11 February 2011 "A serious untoward incidents (SUI) schedule has been established between NHS Sheffield as the commissioner and Claremont as the provider, taking into account guidance from NHS Yorkshire and the Humber and national guidance on 'Never Events' from the National Patient Safety Agency (NPSA). The schedule sets out the arrangements in place and the processes agreed to ensure that all serious incidents occurring at the Trust are notified to NHS Sheffield for performance management and service improvement monitoring purposes".

We have no information that suggests there are areas of non compliance with this outcome.