You are here

St Martins of Tours Housing - 158-162 New North Road Good

We are carrying out a review of quality at St Martins of Tours Housing - 158-162 New North Road. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 9 December 2016

St Martins of Tours provides residential care for men with forensic psychiatric histories and mental health problems. There are 18 rooms for people with mental health problems and/or substance misuse issues and a nearby three bedroom house for people who were transitioning to independent living. There were 16 people using the service at the time of this inspection.

This inspection took place on 7 November 2016 and was unannounced. Our previous inspection in May 2014 found that the service was meeting all of the legal requirements that we looked at during that inspection.

At the time of our inspection a registered manager was employed at the service. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We saw that risks assessments were in place and were regularly being reviewed. The risk assessments encompassed potential risks associated with people’s day to day support needs, mental healthcare support, other healthcare conditions and risks associated with daily living and activities. Staff demonstrated that they were aware of how to mitigate risks and instructions were clear and informed staff about action to be taken to reduce risks and how to respond if new risks emerged.

There were policies, procedures and information available in relation to the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) to ensure that people who could not make decisions for themselves were protected. The service was applying MCA appropriately. Physical restrictions under DoLS were not applied for at the service as some people using the service was subject to a community treatment order. This would mean that if they did not comply with their treatment in the community they could be recalled to undergo treatment in a secure hospital ward.

We found that people’s health care needs were assessed and the service had begun developing specific health action plans to ensure that these assessments improved the range of potential health care needs assessed, whether previously known about or not. Recovery action plans were also being developed. Care was planned and delivered in a consistent way and the service had regular contact with community mental health services and other health and social care professionals. Information and guidance provided to staff about what was expected of them and the procedures used at the service were clear.

The service complied with the provider’s procedures to carry out regular audits of all aspects of the service. The provider carried out regular reviews of the service and sought people’s feedback on how the service operated. The four people using the service who spoke with us all said they were consulted and that their views were listened to.

At this inspection we found that the service met all of the regulations we looked at.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 9 December 2016

The service was safe. People’s safety and any risks associated with their care were identified and reviewed.

The service had systems in place to ensure that they recruited staff that were safe to work with people.

Medicines were managed safely and consent to the service keeping people’s medicines was obtained from people using the service. Where people required depot injections (slow release injections to provide medicines associated with enduring mental health difficulties) the home liaised with community psychiatric services to ensure these were provided and monitored.

Effective

Good

Updated 9 December 2016

The service was effective. Staff received regular training and supervision as well as appraisals, staff we spoke with confirmed this as did records we were shown.

Staff understood how to assess and monitor people’s capacity to make decisions about their own care. Support was provided to maintain people’s mental well-being and to respond to deteriorating mental health conditions.

People were encouraged by staff to maintain a healthy and balanced diet and were provided with guidance, along with practical assistance on how to do this.

Healthcare needs were responded to with any changes to each person’s health being identified and acted upon.

Caring

Good

Updated 9 December 2016

The service was caring. Staff were observed interacting with people in a respectful way and engaging people about their plans as well as other day to day living activities.

Staff had a good knowledge of people’s characters and personalities. Staff showed that they understand the signs to look which could show that people required more support.

Responsive

Good

Updated 9 December 2016

The service was responsive. People were actively engaged in making decisions about their care. People we spoke with told us this did happen and could include the involvement of relatives where appropriate as well as other health and social care professionals.

Well-led

Good

Updated 9 December 2016

The service was well led. Staff we spoke with felt that the service was well managed and supportive towards staff and people using the service.

The provider had a system for monitoring the quality of care. The service sought feedback from people using the service, families where appropriate and health and social care professionals. The service was able to demonstrate that it acted on this feedback through action taken to respond to any issues raised or suggestions for improvement. An annual review of the service for 2016 had also recently been published.