You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 6 February 2018

This inspection was carried out on 20, 21 and 22 December 2017. The first day of the inspection was unannounced.

High Brake House is a care home which is registered to provide care and accommodation for up to 35 older people, including older people living with a dementia. The service does not provide nursing care. People in care homes receive accommodation and personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided and both were looked at during this inspection. High Brake House is an adapted building in a residential area in Clitheroe. At the time of the inspection there were 34 people accommodated at the service.

The service was managed by a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection on the 4 and 5 May 2016 the overall rating of the service was ‘Good’. However there were breaches of the regulations relating to staff recruitment and medicines management. We asked the provider to make improvements on these matters. We received an action plan from the provider on 19 June 2016 indicating how and when they would meet the relevant legal requirements. At this inspection we found sufficient improvements had been made and the service remained Good.

During this inspection we found there were no breaches of the regulations of the Health and Social Care Act (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. However we found there were some shortfalls with the management of complaints. We have therefore made a recommendation about improving complaints processes.

There was a warm and friendly atmosphere at the service. We found there were good management and leadership arrangements in place to support the day to day running of the service.

Arrangements were in place to promote the safety of the premises, this included maintenance, servicing and checking systems. We found the service to be clean in the areas we looked at.

People were happy with the accommodation. We found there was a good standard of décor and furnishings to provide for people’s comfort and wellbeing. People had personalised their rooms and had been asked for their choice of colour schemes.

People told us they felt safe at the service. Staff were aware of the signs and indicators of abuse and they knew what to do if they had any concerns about people’s wellbeing and safety.

Arrangements were in place to ensure staff were checked before working at the service. We found some checks had not been properly completed. But the registered manager took swift action to make improvements. There were enough staff available to provide care and support. There were systems in place to ensure all staff received regular training and supervision.

People’s needs were being assessed and planned for before they moved into the service. People were supported with their healthcare needs and received appropriate medical attention. Changes in people’s health and well-being were monitored and responded to.

Each person had a care plan, describing their individual needs, preferences and routines. This provided guidance for staff on how to provide support. People’s needs and choices were kept under review.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff support them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems at the service support this practice.

There were some good processes in place to manage and store people’s medicines safely. We found some improvements were needed and these were put right during the inspection.

People made positive comments about the caring attitude of staff. During the inspection we observed staff interacting with people in

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 6 February 2018

The service has improved to Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 6 February 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 6 February 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 6 February 2018

The service has deteriorated to Requires Improvement.

Well-led

Good

Updated 6 February 2018

The service remains Good.