You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Roseberry Court. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 11 August 2017

We inspected Roseberry Court on 13 June 2017. The inspection was unannounced, which meant the staff and provider did not know we would be visiting. The last comprehensive inspection of the service was in May 2015 and we found that the provider was meeting the legal requirements in the areas that we looked at and rated the service as Good. At this inspection we found the service was also Good. We have also carried out two focussed inspections of Roseberry Court in May 2016 and December 2016 when we received information of concern.

Roseberry Court provides care and accommodation to a maximum number of 63 people. Accommodation is provided over three floors. The ground floor of the home can accommodate a maximum number of 18 people who require personal care. The first floor of the home can accommodate a maximum number of 24 people who require personal care. The second floor can accommodate a maximum number of 21 people living with a dementia. Communal lounge and dining facilities are available within each unit. There is an enclosed garden/patio area for people to use. At the time of our inspection there were 61 people who used the service.

The service had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons.’ Registered persons have a legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The registered manager was not present on the day of our inspection, however we spoke with them after our inspection visit.

The registered manager and staff displayed clear enthusiasm to make a positive difference to people's lives. Activities were stimulating, outings and events were well thought through, varied and in plentiful supply. There was a ‘Three wishes campaign’. People who used the service were asked to write down things they wanted to accomplish over the coming year. Staff then worked hard to make sure at least one of their wishes came true. People who used the service told us this had happened and their wishes had been granted. There were meaningful activities for people living with a dementia and thought had been given to the layout of Grace Unit to ensure it enhanced the life of people living with a dementia. Themed areas had been created in corridors which encouraged people to stop, look and interact with the surroundings and others.

People were protected by the services approach to safeguarding and whistle blowing. People told us they felt safe and could tell staff if they were unhappy. Staff were aware of safeguarding procedures, could describe what they would do if they thought somebody was being mistreated and said that management acted appropriately to any concerns brought to their attention.

Risks to people’s safety had been assessed by staff and records of these assessments had been reviewed. This enabled staff to have the guidance they needed to help people to remain safe. Appropriate checks of the building and maintenance systems were undertaken to ensure health and safety was maintained.

Medicines were managed safely with an effective system in place. Staff competencies, around administering medication, were regularly checked.

There were sufficient staff on duty to meet the needs of people who used the service. There was a system in place to ensure that staff recruited had the appropriate skills and experience and were of good character.

Staff had been trained and had the skills and knowledge to provide support to the people they cared for. Staff understood the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act (2005) and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards which meant they were working within the law to support people who may lack capacity to make their own decisions.

People were provided with a choice of healthy food and drinks, which helped to ensure that their

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 11 August 2017

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 11 August 2017

The service remains effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 11 August 2017

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Outstanding

Updated 11 August 2017

The service was very responsive.

People consistently received person centred care. People who used the service and relatives were involved in decisions about their care and support needs.

People were provided with numerous opportunities to take part in a varied range of stimulating activities of their choice inside and outside the service. Careful thought had been given by the manager and staff to enhance the life of those people living with a dementia.

People did not raise any concerns. The provider had a system in place in which complaints could be made.

Well-led

Good

Updated 11 August 2017

The service remains well led.