You are here

Archived: Greasbrough Residential and Nursing Home Inadequate

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Inadequate

Updated 22 May 2019

The inspection took place on 6 August 2018 and was unannounced which meant the people living at Greasbrough Residential and Nursing Home and the staff working there didn’t know we were visiting.

The service was previously inspected on 15 and 17 May and 6 June 2018, when we identified six breaches of regulations, the service was rated Inadequate and was placed in special measures.

We undertook an unannounced focused inspection of Greasbrough Residential and Nursing Home. The inspection was undertaken to check that the improvements the registered provider had told us about following our comprehensive inspection in May and June had been completed and legal requirements were now being met. The team inspected the service against two of the five questions we ask about services: is the service safe and is the service well led. This was because we had received concerns form the local authority and from the public regarding people’s safety and the management and leadership of the service.

The areas of concerns raised by the local authority and the public did not relate to the remaining Key Questions so we did not inspect them.

At the last inspection, the service was rated inadequate. At this inspection we found the service remained inadequate. We found that the registered provider had failed to make or sustain sufficient improvements in the key questions we looked at. The service remains in special measures.

You can read the report from our last inspections, by selecting the 'all reports' link for ‘Greasbrough residential and Nursing Home’ on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Greasbrough residential and Nursing Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. It provides accommodation for up to 60 people in one adapted building. On the day of our inspection there were 48 people using the service.

At the time of our inspection there was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons.’ Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We found continued concerns with medication management. Systems were in place to manage medicines safely. However, we found these were not followed and people did not always receive medicines as prescribed.

We identified risks were still not managed safely. Assessments identified risks to people and management plans to reduce the risks were in place to ensure people’s safety. However, these were not followed, staff did not refer to care plans and did not deliver the care and support in line with people’s assessed needs. This put people at risk of harm.

Recruitment procedures were not followed so the registered provider did not ensure safe recruitment of staff.

We found the registered provider continued to not follow the dependency tool, this is a tool used to determine the hours of care required to meet people’s needs. We found again there were inadequate staff on duty. Following our inspection in June 2018 the registered provider assured us the appropriate staffing levels would be in place to meet people’s needs even if agency staff were required. At this inspection we found this was not the case.

Not all staff had been supported or supervised to ensure they fulfilled their roles and responsibilities.

Infection, prevention and control procedures were not always followed to ensure peoples safety.

Systems in place to monitor the service continued to be ineffective. They did identify some issues but these were not followed up to ensure they were resolved, which would help to keep people safe and maintain their wellbeing.

Further i

Inspection areas

Safe

Inadequate

Updated 22 May 2019

The service was not safe.

Risks were not managed safely, which put people at risk of harm. Safe medication systems were not followed and people did not always receive medication as prescribed.

Infection prevention and control procedures were not always followed.

Recruitment procedures were in place but we found that these were not always followed.

Effective

Inadequate

Updated 22 May 2019

Caring

Inadequate

Updated 22 May 2019

Responsive

Inadequate

Updated 22 May 2019

Well-led

Inadequate

Updated 22 May 2019

The service was not well led.

There was lack of governance and oversight by the registered provider.

The registered manager had implemented some new systems to monitor the service and to identify areas to develop. However, we found that these were not effective.

There were no opportunities for people who used the service, staff, or relatives to voice their opinion or be involved in the service.