You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

About the service

Claremont Lodge is a residential care home providing personal and accommodation for up to 18 people. The home is owned by Claremont Lodge Care Limited.

This inspection was carried out on 14 October 2019. At the time of the inspection there were 14 people living at Claremont Lodge.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found.

Appropriate systems were in place to manage risk relating to people’s skin, mobility and nutritional needs. Systems were in place to safeguard people from abuse and staff were knowledgeable about the signs of abuse.

Staffing were sufficient to meet people’s needs and the feedback we received was that there were enough staff to support people safely. Medicines were administered safely. The home was clean and generally odour-free. Accidents and incidents were recorded and monitored, processes were in place to learn from these to reduce or prevent recurrence.

Staff received appropriate induction, training and supervision. People were supported to eat and drink enough to maintain a balanced diet and people were complimentary about the food. Staff worked with professionals to support people’s well-being and health.

Refurbishment plans were in place to modernise the environment, as parts appeared tired and dated. We were informed this was scheduled to be completed by December 2019. We have made a recommendation about the environment.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests. However, some consent to care forms had not been completed, particularly regarding the use of restrictive devices such as bed rails, sensor mats and chair alarms. The registered manager arranged for these to be completed after the inspection.

Observations showed people received kind and considerate care, feedback we received about the care provided was positive. Staff were attentive to people’s needs. People’s privacy and dignity were respected and promoted.

People received personalised care according to their wishes and preferences. Complaints and concerns were recorded, responded to and monitored. People were supported at their end of life when the time came. The home had a long-standing staff team, some of whom had worked at the home for many years. Staff told us they enjoyed working at the home and that team work was a strength.

Systems were in place to ensure quality performance and risks were monitored. People, relatives and staff were involved in the management of the home and their views were sought through the use of meetings and satisfaction surveys. The home worked in partnership with community organisations.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection (and update)

The last rating for this service was Good in March 2017 (published April 2017).

Why we inspected

This was a planned inspection based on the previous rating and in line with our timescales for re-inspecting services previously rated as Good.

Follow up

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

The service was safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

The service was effective.

Details are in our effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

The service was caring.

Details are in our caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

The service was responsive.

Details are in our responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

The service was well-led.

Details are in our well-led findings below.