You are here

Haydon View Residential Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 28 February 2018

Haydon View Residential Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Haydon View Residential Home accommodates 27 people in one adapted building. At the time of our inspection, 19 people received care from the service, some of whom were living with dementia.

This inspection took place on 17 November 2017. The inspection was unannounced.

The last inspection we carried out at this service was in August 2015 when we rated the service 'Good', and found the provider was meeting all of the regulations. At this inspection, we found the provider had maintained a rating of 'Good'.

A registered manager was in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People we spoke with were relaxed in the home, and at ease with staff. People told us they felt safe living at the home. Staff had all undertaken training in spotting any signs of safeguarding concerns, and in discussions with us were able to describe appropriate steps they would follow if any arose. Prompt referrals had been made to the local authority safeguarding team when necessary.

Risks were well managed. Care records contained assessments of risks such as falling, choking or developing malnutrition. Mitigating actions were highlighted to staff to reduce any known risks. Some areas of the upper floor were sloping and we considered more could be done to reduce the risk of people tripping. The registered manager assured us this would be addressed. Accidents and incidents were well monitored.

People and staff told us there were enough staff to operate the home safely and to meet people's needs. Staff were had time to sit and talk with people as well as carrying out their tasks. Robust recruitment procedures had been maintained, and recruitment included checking prospective staff employment details with the Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) which would highlight any known reasons why staff should not work with vulnerable people.

.

Staff received appropriate training so they had the skills and knowledge to meet the needs of the people they supported. Training was monitored to ensure it stayed up to date. Staff met regularly with their supervisors to discuss their role and personal development.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff support them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

The principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) were embedded in care records, and staff had a good understanding of the process to follow if they had any concerns over people's capacity to make decisions. Where people’s liberty had been restricted for their own safety, the registered manager had applied for authorisation through the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS).

People spoke positively about the food on offer, and during our observations, we saw people enjoyed their meals. Some adaptations had been made to the environment to enable people living with dementia to move around the home as independently as possible. The provider told us they were researching best practice in dementia care and had plans to incorporate more adaptations to make the home as dementia friendly as possible.

People were supported to access health professionals and to have their healthcare needs met. A district nurse we spoke with told us the home worked well with them.

Staff were warm, friendly and knew people and their needs well. During the inspection, we saw staff responded to people's distress

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 28 February 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 28 February 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 28 February 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 28 February 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 28 February 2018

The service remains Good.