You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 January 2019

Hillsdon Nursing Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Hillsdon Nursing Home is registered to accommodate a maximum of 21 people who require both nursing and personal care. There were 18 people, all requiring nursing care, living at the home at the time of our inspection.

The home was led by a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection in September 2018, which was a focused inspection, we found the home had made improvements we required from the previous inspection in June 2017 and the service was rated as good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Is the service safe?

People were protected from potential abuse and avoidable harm. This was because staff had received training and were knowledgeable about recognising and reporting different signs of abuse. There were enough appropriately qualified staff available on each shift to ensure people were cared and supported safely. Risks to people had been assessed and were well managed. Medicines were managed safely and there were effective systems in place. People were protected by the prevention and control of infection. The registered manager reviewed and learned from incidents when things went wrong.

Is the service effective?

People’s needs were fully assessed and they had access to health care professionals who worked in collaboration with the staff at the home. Staff received training to meet the individual needs of people. Staff told us they felt supported to carry out their roles. There was good team moral and staff were committed to enhancing the lives of people at the home. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives. Staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible with policies and systems to support this practice. People were satisfied with the standard of food provided and told us there was good choice in menus. People's independence and wellbeing was enhanced by the environment of the home.

Is the service caring?

There was an open, friendly and homely atmosphere at Hillsdon. People and relatives all said the staff team were kind and caring. Staff were knowledgeable and understood the care people needed. People were treated with dignity and respect and were supported to make their own choices.

Is the service responsive?

People received good personalised care and treatment as up to date care plans were in place for each individual. Staff took the time to get to know people, their life and social histories. This ensured good outcomes for people. Activities were provided based on people’s interests and past experiences. There had been no complaints raised about the service since our last inspection.

Is the service well led?

The service was led by the registered manager and Nominated Individual for the company. Staff told us they were approachable whilst at the same time setting high standards. People, their relatives and staff were consulted and involved in their care and support. There was a programme of quality checks and audits to ensure the quality of the service was maintained.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 January 2019

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 8 January 2019

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 8 January 2019

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 January 2019

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 8 January 2019

The service remains Good