You are here

Archived: Goodwood Court Dental Surgery

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 10 December 2018

We undertook a focused inspection of Goodwood Court Dental Surgery on 7 November 2018. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported remotely by a specialist dental adviser.

We had undertaken a comprehensive inspection of Goodwood Court Dental Surgery on 19 July 2018 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing well led care in accordance with the relevant regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Goodwood Court Dental Practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the areas where improvement was required.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breaches we had found at our previous inspection on 19 July 2018.

Background

Goodwood Court Dental Surgery is in Hove, East Sussex and provides NHS and private treatment to adults and children.

There is level access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Car parking spaces for blue badge holders are available outside the practice.

The dental team includes the principal dentist, one dental nurse and one trainee dental nurse. Both nurses perform dual roles as receptionist. The practice has one treatment room.

The practice is owned by an individual who is the principal dentist there. They have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run.

During the inspection we spoke with the principal dentist and one dental nurse. We looked at practice policies and procedures and other records about how the service is managed.

The practice is open:

  • Monday to Friday from 8.30am to 5.30pm
  • Saturday from 9am to 1pm (one Saturday a month by appointment only)

Our key findings were:

  • The practice was providing care and treatment in a safe way to patients
  • The practice had implemented effective systems and processes to ensure good governance which can be sustained in the longer term, in accordance with the fundamental standards of care.
  • Patients’ dental care records were stored securely and patients’ confidentiality was maintained.
  • Prescription pads were securely stored and systems were in place to track and monitor their use.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 20 August 2018

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice was reviewing its systems and processes to ensure that these effectively enabled the practice to provide safe care and treatment. The practice used learning from incidents and complaints to help them improve.

Not all staff had received training in safeguarding although we received information that training had been provided following the inspection.

Staff were qualified for their roles although improvements were required to ensure that the practice completed essential recruitment checks.

The treatment room was clean but cluttered. Improvements were required to ensure that the reception and waiting area was clean and decluttered. Equipment was properly maintained. The practice did not always follow national guidance for cleaning, sterilising and storing dental instruments although improvements were made following the inspection.

The practice had arrangements for dealing with medical and other emergencies and medicines and equipment were present as specified in national guidance.

Effective

No action required

Updated 20 August 2018

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with

the relevant regulations.

The dentist assessed patients’ needs and provided care and treatment in line with recognised guidance.

The practice had clear arrangements when patients needed to be referred to other dental or health care professionals.

The practice was reviewing its systems to ensure that staff were supported to complete training relevant to their roles, and the systems to help them monitor this were effective.

Caring

No action required

Updated 20 August 2018

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had systems in place to identify patients with specific needs such as those patients who were anxious about visiting the dentist or those with specific mobility impairments.

We saw that staff protected patients’ privacy and helped patients to be involved in decisions about their care.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 20 August 2018

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice understood the needs of the local population and the practice’s appointment system was efficient and met patients’ needs. Patients could get an appointment quickly if in pain.

The practice provided facilities for disabled patients and families with children. The practice had access to interpreter services.

The practice took patients views seriously. They valued compliments from patients and responded to concerns and complaints quickly and constructively.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 10 December 2018

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had made significant improvements to the arrangements in place to ensure the smooth running of the service. Systems were in place to ensure that all risks were identified and actions taken to mitigate the risks were discussed with staff and documented.

Systems were in place to track the training needs of staff. Improvements had been made to ensure that all staff understood their roles and responsibilities. Staff felt empowered, supported and appreciated.

Improvements had been made to ensure that patient information was kept securely and complied with General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) requirements.

The practice had been proactive in reviewing all areas of their work. Changes had been made within the practice to help them improve and learn.

The improvements provided a sound footing for the ongoing development of effective governance arrangements at the practice.