You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 28 November 2018

This focused inspection took place on 7 November 2018 and was unannounced.

We completed an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service in February 2018. After that inspection we received concerns regarding the management and governance within the home and how people’s care, treatment and support needs were being delivered. Concerns were also raised as to whether staff had the skills, knowledge and experience to meet the needs of the service. Concerns that people were not receiving an appropriate level of nutrition and hydration. Lack of consent for care and support delivery and issues with the environment not being appropriate to meet people’s needs.

As a result, we undertook a focused inspection to look into those concerns. This report only covers our findings in relation to those topics. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for (St Martin’s Care Limited) on our website at “www.cqc.org.uk”

The team inspected the service against two of the five questions we ask about services: is the service effective and is the service well led? No additional risks, concerns or significant improvement were identified in the remaining Key Questions through our ongoing monitoring or during our inspection activity so we did not inspect them. The ratings from the previous comprehensive inspection for these Key Questions were included in calculating the overall rating in this inspection.

Willow Green is a ‘care home.’ People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

The care home accommodates 63 people across two floors. At the time of the inspection 53 people were being supported in the home, 20 of which were receiving nursing care.

The service did not have a registered manager. A new manager was in post who had commenced the process to become the registered manager of Willow Green.

‘A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons.’ Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.’

Some people felt the quality of the food needed improving. Plans were in place to address this with the development of new menus. A new chef had been employed.

People’s needs were assessed in line with best practice and current legislation to ensure they could be supported in Willow Green. People’s likes, dislikes and preferences were used in planning outcomes. Staff were aware on how to provide support and guidance to meet people’s outcomes.

Staff told they felt supported and received regular supervision and annual appraisals. Staff had received appropriate training to meet the needs of the service. The manager had planned in additional training for staff to completed to increase their skills and knowledge.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives, and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People had their nutritional needs assessed regularly and were supported to eat and drink safely. Where specialist diets and thickened fluids were required, these were provided. People’s health was monitored and when necessary staff ensured people had access to health care professionals when necessary.

The provider had commenced a programme of refurbishment with some rooms being redecorated. The reception carpet was due for renewal. Rooms were personalised to people’s taste. Communal areas were spacious and accessible. People had access to outside areas. The home was clean with no odours.

The provider’s senior management structure had been revised. Senior management wer

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 3 May 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 28 November 2018

The service was good.

Caring

Good

Updated 3 May 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Outstanding

Updated 3 May 2018

The service remains Outstanding.

Well-led

Good

Updated 28 November 2018

The service was good.