You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 27 March 2018

The inspection took place on 13 February 2018.

Hanover Care Limited is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats in the community. It provides a service to adults, but predominantly to older adults, including people who may have a physical disability, a learning disability, sensory loss, mental health problems or people living with dementia living in Brighton and Hove. At the time of our inspection around 45 people were receiving a service, not all of whom were receiving the regulated activity of personal care.

At the last inspection on 9 November 2015 the service was rated overall Good. At this inspection we found the service remained overall Good. At the last inspection we found robust systems were not in place for reviewing, monitoring and assessing the delivery of care and support. The provider was not undertaking their own internal audits, therefore they were unable to demonstrate how they monitored and identified where standards were falling. At this inspection we found significant improvements had been made, however there were still areas in relation to the quality assurance process in need of being addressed and embedded into the practice.

Systems had been maintained to keep people safe. People told us they felt safe with the care provided. One person told us, “The carers have a friendly but professional manner and that gives me confidence and makes me feel safe.” Another person told us, “Having a regular carer makes me feel safe.” A third person said,” The carers have a friendly but professional manner and that gives me confidence and makes me feel safe. I know they are there in the background.” They felt they could raise concerns and they would be listened to. People remained protected from the risk of abuse because staff understood how to identify and report it. Assessments of risks to people had been developed. Staff told us they had continued to receive supervision, and be supported to develop their skills and knowledge by receiving training which helped them to carry out their roles and responsibilities effectively. People told us care staff had the knowledge and skills to provide their care and support. One member of staff told us, “Training is kept up to date. We are told in advance we have to do it and have to submit answers to show we have understood. They tell us of additional training that can be available and they invite us to apply if we want. I see someone with Parkinson’s and was able to have some training about it.”

People's individual care and support needs continued to be identified before they received a service. Care and support provided was personalised and based on the identified needs of each person. People told us they felt listened to, supported to be independent and they were involved in decisions about their care. Staff had an understanding of consent. A relative told us, “I have been delighted that the carers are able to manage my relative’s condition. They know how to manage her moods and keep her happy. They always take care to tell (Person’s name) what they are doing. They never take her by surprise.”

People were happy with the care provided. Comments from people included, “This agency is better than any I’ve seen and between my wife and I we’ve seen a lot,” “They come out trumps,” “I am perfectly happy with the care that I get,” and “I would whole heartedly recommend them, no hesitation.”

People continued to be supported by kind and caring staff who treated them with respect and dignity. A relative told us, “My wife had different carers and if they crossed over, the carers were very respectful and they always included my wife in our conversations which I thought was good as we were all in it together.” They were spoken with and supported in a sensitive, respectful and professional manner. One person told us, “I was recently bereaved and my carer came to the funeral and it has helped to be able to talk to her about my loss.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 27 March 2018

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 27 March 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 27 March 2018

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 27 March 2018

The service remains Good

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 27 March 2018

The service remains Requires Improvement.

This is because although a quality assurance framework had been put in place there were still areas in need of being addressed and embedded into the practice.