You are here

Howlish Hall Residential Care Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 July 2021

About the service

Howlish Hall Residential Care Home is a care home providing accommodation and personal care to up to 40 people. On the day of our visit, there were 28 people using the service, some of whom were living with a dementia type illness.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

The home had effective infection prevention and control procedures in place. Staff wore appropriate PPE and were regularly tested for COVID-19 in line with government guidance. The home was clean and tidy. One person told us, “The home is beautifully clean.”

Staff treated people in a kind, respectful and compassionate manner. Staff were knowledgeable about people’s individual needs, wishes and preferences. People were involved in decisions about their care, offered choice, and encouraged to give feedback.

People received person-centred care and care plans in place were up to date to reflect people’s current needs. People were given information in a way which they could understand and people were supported to communicate effectively. People were encouraged to take part in activities which were relevant to them. Complaints were dealt with appropriately.

There was a positive culture throughout the home and staff morale was good. Staff felt supported by the registered manager. Effective quality assurance systems were in place. Management engaged and involved people who used the service, staff and relatives, and encouraged open and honest feedback. Action plans were in place to support continuous improvement.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection

The last rating for this service was requires improvement (published 21 October 2020).

Why we inspected

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 26 March 2019. At that inspection we found improvements were needed in the key questions of caring and responsive.

We undertook this focused inspection to check whether the provider had made the necessary improvements to improve the rating of those key questions and improve the overall rating of the service to good. This report only covers our findings in relation to the key questions caring, responsive and well-led.

We carried out an unannounced focused inspection of this service on 27 August 2020 where we looked at the key questions safe and effective. The ratings from that inspection for those key questions were used in calculating the overall rating at this inspection.

We looked at infection prevention and control measures under the safe key question. We look at this in all care home inspections even if no concerns or risks have been identified. This is to provide assurance that the service can respond to COVID-19 and other infection outbreaks effectively.

The overall rating for the service has changed from requires improvement to good. This is based on the findings at this inspection.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection and our last focused inspection, by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Howlish Hall Residential Care Home on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Follow up

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 July 2021

At our last inspection we rated this key question good. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at infection prevention and control under this key question.

Effective

Good

Updated 8 July 2021

Caring

Good

Updated 8 July 2021

The service was caring.

Details are in our caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 July 2021

The service was responsive.

Details are in our responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 8 July 2021

The service was well-led.

Details are in our well-led findings below.