You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

Tudor Manor is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided and both were looked at during this inspection. Tudor Manor is a care home without nursing, which can accommodate up to 22 people. At the time of our inspection 18 people were using the service and these were older people requiring personal care.

At our last inspection on 14 December 2015 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

.

The inspection visit took place on 12 October 2018 and was unannounced. The inspection took place partly in response to some concerns raised with us around staffing issues and that people were not receiving appropriate support. During the inspection we found no evidence that people were not being adequately cared for and the recruitment of staff was in process.

The registered manager had left their post during the week of the inspection and therefore they were not present on the day. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The quality director had taken on the role of acting manager in the period leading up to a new registered manager being employed.

People continued to receive care that made them feel safe and they received medicine as required. Staff understood how to protect people from abuse and harm. Risks to people were assessed and guidance about how to manage these was available for staff to refer to/follow.

People continued to receive effective support from staff with a sufficient level of skills and knowledge to meet their specific needs. People were supported to have choice and control of their lives and staff supported their choices. People were assisted to access appropriate healthcare support and received an adequate diet.

The care people received was provided with compassion and dignity. People were supported to express their views. Staff supported people to have choices and independence, wherever possible. People’s diverse needs were recognised and staff enabled people to access activities should they so wish.

The provider had effective systems in place to regularly review people’s care provision, with their involvement. People’s care was personalised and care plans contained information about the person, their needs, choices and preferences. Care staff knew people’s needs and respected them. People were able to speak openly with staff and tell them if they were unhappy or wanted to make a complaint.

The service continued to be well-led, including making detailed checks and monitoring of the quality of the service. People and staff were positive about the leadership skills of the management team. Arrangements were in place to obtain views on the service from people, staff and their relatives.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service remains Good.