You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 21 September 2018

The inspection took place on 20 August 2018 and was unannounced.

Ribston House is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Ribston House accommodates nine people in one shared house and provides a service for people with a learning disability. At the time of our inspection visit there were seven people using the service.

At our previous inspection in July 2017 we found the service was rated ‘Good’ overall. In July 2018 we received concerns in relation to staff not respecting people’s dignity, lack of activities and the management of the service. As a result, we undertook a focused inspection on 20 August 2018 to look into those concerns. This report only covers our findings in relation to these topics. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for Ribston House on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

No risks, concerns or significant improvement were identified in the remaining Key Questions through our ongoing monitoring or during our inspection activity so we did not inspect them. The ratings from the previous comprehensive inspection for these Key Questions were included in calculating the overall rating in this inspection.

At this inspection we found the service remained ‘Good’.

Ribston House had a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People received support from caring staff who treated people with respect and upheld their privacy and dignity.

People were supported to take part in a range of suitable activities of their choice.

The registered manager was visible and accessible to people and staff. Quality checks were made with the aim of improving the service in response to people's needs.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 September 2017

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 8 September 2017

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 21 September 2018

The service was caring.

People were supported with kindness and respect.

People's privacy, dignity and independence was understood and respected.

Responsive

Good

Updated 21 September 2018

The service was responsive.

People received personalised care and support.

People were enabled to engage in suitable activities of their choice.

Arrangements were in place to respond to concerns and complaints.

Well-led

Good

Updated 21 September 2018

The service was Well-Led.

The management were accessible to people using the service, their representatives and staff.

Quality assurance systems were in operation to identify shortfalls in quality and risks in the service. Plans were in place to act on any shortfalls found.