You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

We carried out this inspection on 16 January 2019. The inspection was unannounced.

This service was last inspected in February 2016 and was rated Good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Landona House is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

There were 34 people living in the home at the time we carried out our inspection.

There was an experienced registered manager responsible for the day-to-day management of the service. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The registered manager had been working at the service for four months.

We looked at how the service managed its recruitment of new staff and saw that this was done well and all of the required checks were carried out before staff commenced working at the home. The home had an established staff team and did not use any agency staff. Staff spoken with and records seen confirmed training had been provided to enable them to support the people with their specific needs. We found staff were knowledgeable about the support needs of people in their care. We observed staff providing support to people throughout our inspection visit. We saw that staff were very thoughtful in their approach to people.

We spoke with 11 people who lived in the home and three relatives and all gave positive feedback about the home and the staff who worked in it. They told us that the staff supported people well. We saw that warm, positive relationships with people were apparent and one person described the staff as “My life line as I’m now safe and well cared for.”

The registered manager understood the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS). This meant they were working within the law to support people who may lack capacity to make their own decisions.

The food served at the home was of a very high standard. Everyone we spoke with told us that they enjoyed the food and we saw that it was plentiful and good quality.

Care plans were clearly recorded. They detailed how people wished and needed to be cared for. They were regularly reviewed and updated as required. We saw that relatives were involved in supporting staff to understand how people wished to be cared for. There were many activities provided at the home and people told us that they enjoyed them and spoke highly of the activities staff.

The registered manager and the provider used a variety of methods to assess and monitor the quality of the service. These included regular audits of the service and staff meetings to seek the views of staff about the service. They also regularly spoke with the people who lived in the home. Feedback about the registered manager was excellent from the people who lived in the home, relatives and all the staff we spoke with despite them not having worked at the service for a long time.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The service remains good.