You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 3 March 2018

An unannounced comprehensive inspection took place of Kingsley Nursing Home 7 & 8 February 2018.

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service in January 2017 when a breach of legal requirement was found. We found a breach in regulation regarding the service not having suitable systems and processes in place to ensure the environment and equipment was safe and used safely. We undertook a focused inspection on 12 April 2017 to check that they had they now met legal requirements. On the inspection of 12 April 2017 we found improvements had been made and the service was now meeting requirements. While improvements had been made around monitoring the home's environment we had not revised the rating for this key question. To improve the rating too 'Good' would require a long term track record of consistent good practice. We reviewed our rating for ‘well led' at this inspection and the rating was changed to ‘Good’. The overall rating for this service is now ‘Good’.

Kingsley Nursing Home is a 'care home'. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Kingsley Nursing Home is a care home in the Birkdale area of Southport. The service offers accommodation, support and nursing care for up to 25 older people. The nursing home is accommodated across two Victorian houses that are connected through an internal corridor. Car parking is available at the front of the building and there is a garden to the rear of the building.

There was a registered manager in post at the time of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us they felt safe living at the care home and that they received a good standard of care from a kind, approachable and caring staff team.

Staff were aware of what constituted abuse and how to respond to an actual or alleged incident. Policies and procedures were in place to protect people from abuse.

Staff we spoke with were able to describe how they protected people’s dignity and right to choose how they wanted their care delivered. Our observations showed staff provided care in accordance with assessment need. Staff were considerate and polite when supporting people.

Ways in which people communicated were recorded to help make their needs known. With regards to the people we discussed, staff had a good knowledge of how people communicated their needs and how they wished to be supported.

At the time of our inspection there were sufficient numbers of skilled and experienced staff to support people. The provider has agreed to provide extra care hours each day for staff to support people with social activities. The activities organiser had left recently and the provider had advertised this position.

Staff recruitment procedures were robust to ensure staff could work with vulnerable people.

We found the home was operating in accordance with the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 [MCA]. Staff sought consent from people before providing support.

The registered manager had made appropriate referrals to the local authority applying for authorisations to support people who may be deprived of their liberty under the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards [DoLS]. DoLS is part of the MCA and aims to ensure people in care homes and hospitals are looked after in a way that does not inappropriately restrict their freedom unless it is in their best interests.

Risks to people’s health, safety and welfare were assessed and measures were put in place to reduce risk, whilst being mindful of people’s rights to i

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 3 March 2018

The service was safe

The provider’s arrangements to manage medicines were consistently followed. Medicines management was safe.

Recruitment processes were robust and helped ensure staff were fit to work with vulnerable people.

There were sufficient numbers of skilled and experience staff to support people safely and to ensure their care needs were met.

Risks to people's health and wellbeing and the environment were recorded and monitored.

The home was clean and we found systems in place to manage the control of infection.

Staff received safeguarding training and were able to tell us about the types of abuse and what actions were needed to report actual or potential harm.

Effective

Good

Updated 3 March 2018

The service was effective

Staff supported people with their health care needs and sought advice from external professionals when needed.

Staff understood and were following the principles of the Mental Capacity Act [2005].

Staff were supported through induction, appraisal and the home’s training programme.

People were supported to maintain a healthy diet in accordance with their needs and preferences.

Caring

Good

Updated 3 March 2018

The service was caring

People's care and support was delivered in a caring and respectful manner.

People told us they received a good standard of care from the staff and that the staff team knew them well.

People and relatives were involved with care decisions and staff informed them about change to care and treatment.

Responsive

Good

Updated 3 March 2018

The service was responsive

Social activities were limited at this time as the service did not have an activities organiser. Care staff were however supporting people as best they could to take part in social activities.

Care records contained information relevant to each person with reference to personal preferences and choice. This helped to provide an individual approach to care.

Staff received end of life training and documentation was in place to support end of life care.

A process for managing complaints was in place. People we spoke with and relatives were confident they could approach staff and make a complaint if they needed.

Well-led

Good

Updated 3 March 2018

The service was well led

The service had a clear management structure and a registered manager was in post.

People living in the home, relatives and staff were complimentary regarding the overall management of the home.

Quality assurance systems and processes were in place to monitor the service to and to drive forward improvements.

Feedback from people was sought so that the service could be developed with respect to their needs and wishes.