You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 30 May 2018

St Georges Hotel is a care home which offers care and support for up to 22 predominantly older people. At the time of the inspection there were 20 people living at the service. Some of these people were living with dementia.

This unannounced comprehensive inspection took place on 8 May 2018. The last comprehensive inspection took place on 18 February 2016 when we found the service was in breach of one of the legal requirements. The service was rated as Good at that time. On the 13 February 2017 we carried out a focused inspection to check on the action taken by the provider to meet the requirements of the regulations. We found the service had taken appropriate action and had addressed the concerns we had found in February 2016. The service was found to have remained Good at this inspection

People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

The service is required to have a registered manager and at the time of the inspection there was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We spent time in the communal areas of the service. Staff were kind and respectful in their approach. They knew people well and had an understanding of their needs and preferences. People were treated with kindness, compassion and respect. People’s bedrooms were personalised to reflect their individual tastes.

People told us, “I am happy here and feel safe” and “I have two friends that visit each week. When we have visitors we see them in the quiet lounge or I could see them in my room if I wanted.” Relatives told us, “It’s a home from home here and feels like that from the moment you walk in; they’re all wonderful.”

The premises were well maintained. People’s bedroom doors held a number and their name in small print to help people identify their own rooms. The premises were regularly checked and maintained by the provider. The service was comfortable and appeared clean with no odours. Equipment and services used at St Georges were regularly checked by competent people to ensure they were safe to use.

The soap dispensers in all bathrooms were open topped and being regularly topped up as needed. This posed a potential infection risk as the residual soap in the dispensers was not being regularly emptied and filled entirely with new soap. Best practice is for soap to be dispensed from sealed cartridges. The provider addressed this issue immediately and ordered sealed dispensers for all bathrooms.

Care plans were well organised and contained accurate and up to date information. Care planning was reviewed regularly and people’s changing needs were recorded. Records of care and support provided were completed regularly by staff. Risks in relation to people’s daily lives were identified, assessed and planned to minimise the risk of harm whilst helping people to be as independent as possible.

The service had identified the minimum numbers of staff required to meet people’s needs and these were being met. The service had one staff vacancy at the time of this inspection and this was being covered by existing staff. The service had a calm and relaxed feel throughout with staff having time to sit and chat with people regularly. Staff were supported by a system of induction, training, some supervision and appraisals.

There were systems in place for the ordering, storage, management and administration of medicines. The system for monitoring people who self-administered their own medicines was effective. It was clear that people had received their medicine as pr

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 30 May 2018

The service remained Good

Effective

Good

Updated 30 May 2018

The service remained Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 30 May 2018

The service remained Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 30 May 2018

The service remained Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 30 May 2018

The service remained Good.