You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 19 April 2018

This unannounced inspection took place on the 7 March 2018 and was completed by one adult social care inspector. The provider was given 48 hours' notice because the location was a small care home for younger adults who are often out during the day and we needed to be sure that people would be in and that the registered manager would be available.

Ravenscroft Care Home (Ravenscroft) is a small, family run, residential care home. It is located just outside Carlisle city centre and is a short walk from local amenities. The building is a large Victorian property and is suitable to provide accommodation for people needing help with personal care and support. It does not have a lift but some of the accommodation is provided at ground floor level and is appropriate for people who may have difficulty in climbing stairs.

There was a registered manager in place who was also the registered owner. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At the last inspection on 07 March 2016 the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

We spoke with both people who lived in the home and they indicated to us that they felt safe and "very happy" living there. Family members we spoke with told us their relatives were safe and happy living at Ravenscroft.

We found that people living at Ravenscroft were well supported to have good and regular contact with their families. This was recognised as a matter of great importance to the registered manager and people who lived there. We saw that people were well supported and cared for and were clearly relaxed and comfortable in their home where they lived as valued family members.

Suitable arrangements were in place to protect people from abuse and unsafe care. The registered manager had completed training in adult protection.

The registered manager and her husband provided care, support and guidance for the two people who lived at Ravenscroft. No staff had been recruited for many years.

We looked around the building and found it had been well maintained, was clean and hygienic and a safe place for people to live. We found equipment had been serviced and maintained as required.

We found that medicines were managed well and in line with people's needs and prescriptions.

We observed, during the inspection, visit warm and friendly interactions between the registered manager and people who lived at the home. We saw the registered manager was able to communicate well with the people they supported even though verbal communication was limited.

Health care needs were met by visits from the GP and the district nursing service. Consultant psychiatric advice was accessed when this was necessary.

People's nutritional and dietary needs were met and healthy eating was promoted.

The care and support plans contained appropriate and up to date information to meet the different health and care needs of the people who lived in Ravenscroft. People were involved in planning how they were supported and in deciding their lifestyles and activities.

There was a complaints procedure in place but relatives told us they had no complaints at all about the service provided.

The service was well managed and maintained and up to date records related to the running of the home and all health and safety checks were kept. This ensured a safe, well run environment for the people who lived there.

.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 19 April 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 19 April 2018

The service remains Effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 19 April 2018

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 19 April 2018

The service remains Responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 19 April 2018

The service remains Well-Led.