You are here

Archived: Drayton Village Care Centre Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 4 May 2017

Drayton Village Care Centre is a nursing home and is part of Gold Care Homes. It provides accommodation for up to 59 older people in single rooms. The home is situated within a residential area of the London Borough of Hillingdon. At the time of our visit there were 46 people using the service.

The manager of the service was in the process of registering with the Care Quality Commission. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the CQC to manage the service and has the legal responsibility for meeting the requirements of the law, as does the provider.

We had previously inspected the location on the 6th, 7th, 8th and 13th December 2016 were we found records relating to care and people did not provide accurate information. In addition the audits carried out in relation to care records did not identify when information had not been recorded accurately. When a recording issue was noted, the audits completed in relation to the Medicine Record Administration (MAR) charts did not identify the actions taken to reduce the risk of the error occurring again.

Following the inspection we imposed a Warning Notice which required the provider to make improvements by 20th April 2017. The provider sent us an action plan which indicated that they would make improvements by this date.

We undertook an unannounced inspection of Drayton Village Care Centre on 27th April 2017 and we found improvements had been made.

We found improvements had been made in relation to the consistency of information recorded in the care plan folders and the manager reviews of all the information for each person were underway.

Global patient charts had been completed regularly and the manager was in the process of reviewing the frequency of a range of information should be recorded by care workers. The prescribed cream application records showed creams were applied as prescribed.

Weekly audits of MAR charts were carried out which identified when recording errors occurred and what action was taken.

Following the inspection on the 27th April 2017, and as a result of the improvements which we saw evidence of, the Warning Notice is no longer in place.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 4 May 2017

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 4 May 2017

Caring

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 4 May 2017

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

We saw improvements had been made to ensure the service was Well-Led.

Improvements had been made to the consistency of the information recorded in care plan folders.

Global patient charts and prescribed creams administration forms were now being completed accurately.

Regular audits in relation to the administration of medicines were completed.