You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 9 January 2019

This inspection took place on 30 October 2018 and was unannounced. The previous inspection took place on 4 August 2017. We found two breaches of the regulations in relation to medicines management and the governance of the service, and the service was rated as ‘Requires Improvement’. At this inspection the service was no longer in breach of the regulations in relation to medicines management and governance. However, improvement was still needed as we found staff recruitment was not always safe.

Sharon House is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Sharon House provides accommodation and care to a maximum of five adults who have a learning disability. On the day of the inspection there were four people living at the service.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At the last inspection there were insufficient audits in relation to medicines, cleanliness and managing people’s money. This meant the registered manager did not establish systems to assess, monitor and improve the quality and safety of the services provided. Although we found at this inspection there were some audits taking place in relation to care records, cleanliness and people’s money, there remained insufficient audits in relation to medicines.

At the last inspection we found there was a complaints process in place but it was not fully accessible to people living at the service. We made a recommendation in relation to the complaints process being accessible. At the time of this inspection visit there was no accessible complaints process at the service, at the time of writing this report the service now has an accessible complaints procedure.

Whilst the management of medicines had improved since the last inspection there remained some minor areas of concern.

Recruitment was not always safe as not all staff had a criminal check in place before working alone with people at the service.

People told us staff were kind and caring and we saw this was the case.

Care records were comprehensive, up to date and person centred. Risk assessments were in place to guide staff in supporting people and minimise harm.

People were involved in activities in the community and had recently enjoyed a holiday together.

The registered manager was well regarded by staff and service users. We could see that the registered manager learnt from accidents and incidents.

We have found one breach of the regulations in relation to recruitment.

You can see what action we told the provider to take at the back of the full version of the report.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 9 January 2019

The service was not always safe.

The service had not undertaken criminal record checks for all staff prior to them working with people which potentially put people at risk of harm.

There were minor issues of concern with medicines management.

Risk assessments were in place to guide staff in caring for people

The service had systems in place to manage the spread of infection.

Effective

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

The service was effective.

Staff were supervised regularly and had training in key areas

People told us staff had the skills to care for them

Staff understood the need for consent before providing care

People were supported to have good health and told us they enjoyed the food.

Caring

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

The service was caring.

People told us staff were kind and caring.

Staff understood people’s preferences and routines

We saw staff were kind to people and treated them with respect.

People’s rooms were personalised and the garden was a pleasant outside space to use.

Responsive

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

The service was responsive.

Care records were person centred, up to date and comprehensive.

People were involved in a range of activities in the community.

There was a complaints process in place.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 9 January 2019

The service was not always well led.

Although some audits had been introduced they were not always effective.

The registered manager was well regarded by people using the service. After the inspection the registered manager sent us an updated audit programme to show how they would quality assure the service.