You are here

Neville House Residential Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 October 2018

This inspection took place on 11 September 2018.

At our last inspection in March 2016 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Neville House Residential Home is a 'care home'. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. We regulate both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Neville House is located in Chadderton, Oldham. The home provides care and accommodation for up to 22 older people. Bedrooms are situated on the ground floor and first floor of the home. Access between floors is via a passenger lift and staircase. The building is situated in its own grounds with gardens and off-road parking. At the time of our inspection 20 people were living at Neville House Residential Care Home.

There was a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We made an recommendation that the service refer to the latest best practice in supporting people with their sensory needs.

We made a recommendation that the service refer to the latest best practice in relation to activities in order to provide more stimulation for people.

Staff knew people's care needs, preferences, personal histories and backgrounds. People said staff protected their privacy and their dignity was respected. People were supported to be independent.

People said staff treated them with kindness and compassion. Comments included, “I am happy and like living here. Everyone is kind. It is a friendly, homely place," and "[Registered manager] is very approachable, good and caring.”

People received care from staff who were appropriately trained to effectively carry out their job roles. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives. The service acted in accordance with the Mental Capacity Act (2005).

People's nutritional needs were met and they were supported to maintain good health and receive ongoing healthcare support.

Staff were aware of their responsibilities to safeguard people from abuse. Safe recruitment practices were in place and the service followed national and local safeguarding guidance.

There were sufficient staff to care for people. Risks to people's safety were assessed and medicines were administered safely.

We found records were written in a positive and respectful way and provided appropriate guidance on how to support people safely.

Neville House had arrangements in place to receive feedback from people that used the service, their relatives, external stakeholders and staff members about the services provided. This information was used to support continuous improvement.

Effective quality assurance audits were in place to monitor the service. The service regularly sought feedback from the people who lived there and their relatives. Staff had regular supervisions and were invited to team meetings.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 10 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 October 2018

The service remains Good.