You are here

Nower House Requires improvement

We are carrying out a review of quality at Nower House. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 3 August 2021

About the service

Nower House is a residential care home providing personal care to 41 people aged 65 and over at the time of the inspection. The service can support up to 50 people. Nower House accommodates people across two separate wings, each with their own adapted facilities.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

People’s risks were not always managed or recorded in a safe way. People did not always receive safe care and support with medicines.

People were not supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff did not support them in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests; the policies and systems in the service did not support this practice.

People did not always receive person-centred care. Care plans lacked person-centred detail which meant staff lacked knowledge of people’s individual needs.

Quality assurance processes had not always been effective in identifying issues we found at the inspection. There was no registered manager and a temporary manager was in post whilst recruitment continued. This had led to people feeling there was little management presence or visibility in the home.

People told us they enjoyed the food at Nower House and we saw evidence that staff were knowledgeable about modified diets. People said they were supported by kind staff that had received appropriate training to prepare them for their roles. Staff received regular training and were recruited safely.

The management team had a positive plan to improve the service, however, a lot of the planned improvements still needed to be implemented and embedded into the service. For this reason, we were unable to see whether these changes would be effective to drive the improvement required.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection and update

The last rating for this service was requires improvement (published 21 August 2019). The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve. At this inspection enough improvement had not been made and the provider was still in breach of regulations.

The service remains rated requires improvement. This service has been rated requires improvement for the last two consecutive inspections.

Why we inspected

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 18 June 2019. Breaches of legal requirements were found in regards to safe care and treatment, consent, person centred care and good governance. The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve.

We undertook this focused inspection to check they had followed their action plan and to confirm they now met legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to the Key Questions Safe, Effective, Responsive and Well-led which contain those requirements.

The ratings from the previous comprehensive inspection for those key questions not looked at on this occasion were used in calculating the overall rating at this inspection. The overall rating for the service has remained the same of requires improvement. The provider continues to be in breach of regulations relating to safe care and treatment, consent, person centred care and good governance. This is based on the findings at this inspection.

We looked at infection prevention and control measures under the Safe key question. We look at this in all care home inspections even if no concerns or risks have been identified. This is to provide assurance that the service can respond to COVID-19 and other infection outbreaks effectively.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Nower House on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Enforcement

We are mindful of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on our regulatory function. This meant we took account of the exceptional circumstances arising as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic when considering what enforcement action was necessary and proportionate to keep people safe as a result of this inspection. We will continue to discharge our regulatory enforcement functions required to keep people safe and to hold providers to account where it is necessary for us to do so.

Full information about CQC’s regulatory response to the more serious concerns found during inspections is added to reports after any representations and appeals have been concluded.

Follow up

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 3 August 2021

The service was not always safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 3 August 2021

The service was not always effective.

Details are in our effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 3 August 2021

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 3 August 2021

The service was not always responsive.

Details are in our responsive findings below.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 3 August 2021

The service was not always well-led.

Details are in our well-Led findings below.