You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

Cloyda Care Home is a residential care home that provides personal care and support for up to 35 older people, some of whom had dementia. There were 29 people using the service at the time of our inspection.

The bedrooms are based on two floors and each floor has shared bathroom facilities. Eight bedrooms had their own toilet and all bedrooms had a small sink for washing. There are two lounges, one attached to a dining area and a small lounge, both overlooking a large garden. There are kitchen and laundry facilities on the ground floor. The home is close to local amenities including shops, cafes, and churches and had good transport links to the local towns and London.

At our inspection in November 2015 we rated the service as Good overall and Well-Led as Requires Improvement, with one breach of regulations because the provider did not have effective systems to assess, monitor, and improve the quality of the services provided.

We inspected against this breach of regulation in March 2016 and although the provider had met the breach we did not change the rating for Well-Led because to do so would require consistent good practice.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good and we changed the rating of Well-Led from Requires Improvement to Good. The service demonstrated they continued to meet the regulations and fundamental standards.

People remained safe at the home. People had suitable risk assessments in place. The provider managed risks associated with the premises and equipment well. There were enough staff at the home to meet people’s needs. Recruitment practices remained safe. Medicines continued to be administered safely. The checks we made confirmed that people were receiving their medicines as prescribed by staff qualified to administer medicines.

People continued to be supported by staff who received appropriate training and support. Staff had the skills, experience and a good understanding of how to meet people’s needs. We saw that staff encouraged people to make their own decisions and gave them the encouragement, time and support to do so. Staff were providing support in line with the Mental Capacity Act 2005. People were supported to eat and drink sufficient amounts to meet their needs. People had access to a range of healthcare professionals.

The staff were caring. The atmosphere in the home was calm and friendly. Staff took their time and gave people encouragement whilst supporting them. Throughout the inspection we saw that people had the privacy they needed and were treated with dignity and respect by staff.

People’s needs were assessed before they stayed at the home and support was planned and delivered in response to their needs. People could choose the activities they liked to do. The provider had arrangements in place to respond appropriately to people’s concerns and complaints.

We observed during our visit that management were approachable and responsive to staff and people’s needs. Systems were in place to monitor and improve the quality of the service. Audits of the premises helped ensure the premises and people were kept safe.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

The provider had continued to assess, monitor and audit the service that people received.

We have changed the rating of Well Led from Requires Improvement to Good.