You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

Chirnside House was inspected on the 04 and 06 April 2018 and the first day of the inspection was unannounced. Chirnside House is registered to provide personal care for up to 30 people who may be living with dementia. At the time of the inspection there were 27 people receiving support.

Chirnside House is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Chirnside House is situated on the outskirts of Lancaster and close to local amenities. The home has communal areas which consist of dining rooms and lounges. There is also a garden area for people to enjoy. There is parking available at the home.

At our last inspection in April 2016 the home was rated ‘Good.’ At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the home has not changed since our last inspection.

Medicines were managed safely. Staff responsible for supporting people with their medicines had received training to ensure they had the competency and skills required. We found some medicines were not dated on opening. We have made a recommendation regarding the implementation of best practice guidance in relation to medicines.

The registered manager completed a series of checks to identify where improvements were required in the quality of the service provided. Staff told us they were informed of the outcomes of these. We noted some of the audits were not documented, therefore action plans were not developed. We have made a recommendation regarding improving the audit recording process.

Staff were able to explain the support individuals required and the way in which they supported people who lived at the home. Relatives told us they were consulted and involved in their family members care. People we spoke with confirmed they were involved in their care planning if they wished to be.

Care records contained information regarding risks and guidance for staff on how risks were to be managed. We found two care records required updating. Prior to the inspection concluding we were informed this had been carried out.

Staff were knowledgeable of people’s needs and the support they required to maintain their safety. People who lived at Chirnside Hall told us they felt safe.

We found people had access to healthcare professionals and their healthcare needs were met. Documentation we viewed showed people were supported to access further healthcare advice if this was appropriate. People and relatives told us they were happy with the care at support provided at Chirnside House.

We found people who received support were able to raise their views on the service. People and relatives consistently told us they were asked their views on an individual basis. In addition, ‘residents meetings’ were held where people at the home were able to be informed of changes and give their opinion on the service provided.

During the inspection we observed people being supported to eat and drink in accordance with their assessed needs. People told us they were happy with the meals provided and we saw staff were attentive and discreetly observant when people were eating their meals.

We found the environment was clean and staff wore protective clothing when required. This minimised the risk and spread of infection.

Staff told us they were aware of the procedures to follow if they suspected someone was at risk of harm or abuse. Staff told us they would report any concerns to the registered manager or the Lancashire Safeguarding Authorities so people were protected.

There was a complaints procedure which was accessible to people who lived at the home. People told us they had no complaints, but they were confident the registered manager and staff would respond to any complaints made.

Recruitment checks were carried out to ensure suitable people were employed to work at the home and staff told us they valued the training they received to enable them to fulfil their roles.

We found staff were caring. We observed warm and respectful interactions between staff and people and who lived at the home. We saw staff had time to spend with people and staffing was arranged to ensure people received support when they needed or wanted it.

We noted an activities schedule was displayed at Chirnside House and people told us they were invited to take part in these. People also said if they did not wish to take part in activities, their wishes were respected.

The registered manager demonstrated their understanding of the Mental Capacity Act 2005. Staff were able to give examples of how they supported people to make decisions. People are supported to have maximum choice and control in their lives and staff support them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

The service remains good.