You are here

Archived: Royal Court Good

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 21 August 2015

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 8 and 9 January 2015 at which a breach of legal requirements was found. This was because the registered person did not have suitable arrangements in place in order to ensure staff were appropriately supported in relation to their responsibilities, by receiving appropriate supervision and appraisal. After this inspection we also received concerns in relation to how the provider dealt with complaints. We looked into these concerns as part of this inspection. This report only covers our findings in relation to these topics.

After the comprehensive inspection, the provider wrote to us to say what they would do to meet legal requirements in relation to the breach. We undertook a focused inspection on 30 July 2015 to check that they had followed their plan and to confirm that they now met legal requirements.

This report only covers our findings in relation to this topic. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for ‘Royal Court’ on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our focused inspection on 30 July 2015 we found the provider had followed their action plan which they said would be completed by 31 May 2015 and legal requirements had been met. Staff were having one to one meetings and annual appraisals to discuss their performance and training needs. People’s complaints and those made on their behalf were listened to and investigated. A response was made to complainants to inform them about any action taken.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 21 August 2015

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 21 August 2015

We found that action had been taken to make the service effective.

This meant the provider was now meeting legal requirements. While improvements had been made we have not revised the rating for this key question. To improve the rating to ‘Good’ would require a longer term track record of consistent good practice. We will review our rating for effective at the next comprehensive inspection.

Caring

Good

Updated 21 August 2015

Responsive

Good

Updated 21 August 2015

The service was responsive. People’s complaints and those made on their behalf were listened to and responded to appropriately.

Well-led

Good

Updated 21 August 2015