You are here

Mears Care - Old Stratford Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 31 July 2018

Mears Care Old Stratford provides domiciliary care services. It provides support and personal care to a range of people living in their own houses in the community. At the time of our inspection 113 people were receiving personal care from the service .

At our last inspection in June 2016 we rated the service. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good, and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Staff received safeguarding training so they knew how to recognise the signs and symptoms of abuse and how to report any concerns of abuse. Risk management plans were in place to protect and promote people’s safety. The staffing arrangements were suitable to keep people safe. The staff recruitment practices ensured staff were suitable to work with people. Staff followed infection control procedures to reduce the risks of spreading infection or illness.

The provider understood their responsibility to comply with the Accessible Information Standard (AIS), which came into force in August 2016.

Staff received induction training when they first started work at the service. On-going refresher training ensured staff were able to provide care and support for people following current practice.

Where the provider took on the responsibility, staff supported people to eat and drink sufficient amounts to maintain a varied and balanced diet. The staff supported people to access health appointments when required, including opticians and doctors, to make sure they received continuing healthcare to meet their needs.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

People had their diverse needs assessed, they had positive relationships with staff and received care in line best practice meeting people’s personal preferences. Staff consistently provided people with respectful and compassionate care.

The service had a positive ethos and an open culture. The registered manager was a visible role model in the service. People, their relatives and other professionals told us that they had confidence in the manager’s ability to provide consistently high quality managerial oversight and leadership.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 31 July 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 31 July 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 31 July 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 31 July 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 31 July 2018

The service remains good.