You are here

St Luke's Hospice Outstanding

We have edited the inspection report for St Luke's Hospice from 12 January 2017 in order to remove some text which should not have been included in this report. This has not affected the rating given to this service.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Outstanding

Updated 12 January 2017

This inspection took place on 17 and 18 October 2016 and was unannounced. This meant staff at St Luke’s did not know we were coming. Our last inspection at St Luke’s took place in August 2014. The hospice was found to be meeting the requirements of the regulations we inspected at that time and overall we rated the service Good.

St Luke’s Hospice provides a range of specialist palliative care services for adults within a dedicated building offering 20 inpatient beds along with outpatient services. The hospice also has a community team who provide care and support for people and families in the home environment.

At the hospice there is a therapies and rehabilitation centre providing day care support, physiotherapy, occupational therapy (including art therapy), wellbeing services (including complementary therapies), psychology, spiritual care, social work and bereavement services.

St Luke’s had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons.’ Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The registered manager also has the role of deputy chief executive and director of patient care.

Day-to-day operation of the hospice is delegated by the Board of Trustees to the Chief Executive Officer (CEO). The CEO discharges responsibilities through the Hospice Executive Team.

At the time of our inspection there were 18 people being cared for on the Inpatient Centre, 10 people were being supported in the therapies and rehabilitation centre and approximately 250 people were being cared for in the community around the city of Sheffield.

People, relatives and healthcare professionals consistently praised the exceptional standards of care, treatment and support provided by hospice staff.

People received exceptional care which was founded on best practice ensuring people were involved and central in the planning and review of their care.

We observed staff supporting people who used the service with consideration, dignity and utmost respect.

People received excellent care and treatment which enabled them to have a dignified and pain free death. Families and those that mattered to the person were supported to spend quality time with them. Relatives were also able to access bereavement support following their family member’s death.

People gave exceptional feedback about the meals and innovation provided by the hospice surrounding their nutritional needs.

St Luke’s Hospice was continually striving for excellence through consultation, research, and reflective practice. The hospice was extremely forward thinking and had a number of new developments underway based on best or evidence based practice to improve care or develop new initiatives.

We saw a number of quality assurance systems and audits to monitor performance and to drive continuous improvement.

The hospice had undertaken innovative work to support people and communicate with different groups of people within the city of Sheffield.

We found suitable arrangements were in place to help safeguard people from abuse. Staff knew what to do if an allegation of abuse was made to them or if they suspected that abuse had occurred.

We found people were cared for by sufficient numbers of suitably skilled, competent and experienced staff who were safely recruited.

We were informed there were over 800 volunteers providing support to the hospice. Volunteers had a wide range of skills and experience. Some worked in the charity shops, others helped with fundraising, running events, collecting donations, driving, bereavement support and many other roles. All the St Luke’s staff, people and relatives we spoke with said volunteers formed a vital part of the St Luke's team.

The service had appropriate arrangements in place to manage medic

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 12 January 2017

The service was safe.

We found suitable arrangements were in place to help safeguard people from abuse.

We found people were cared for by sufficient numbers of suitably skilled, competent and experienced staff who were safely recruited.

The service had appropriate arrangements in place to manage medicines so people were protected from the risks associated with medicines.

Effective

Outstanding

Updated 12 January 2017

The service was very effective.

People, relatives and healthcare professionals consistently praised the exceptional standards of care, treatment and support provided by hospice staff.

People received excellent care which was founded on best practice ensuring people were involved and central in the planning and review of their care.

People gave exceptional feedback about the meals and innovation provided by the hospice surrounding their nutritional needs and told us staff always went out of their way to meet their preferences.

Caring

Good

Updated 12 January 2017

The service was caring.

We observed staff supporting people who used the service with consideration, dignity and upmost respect.

People received care and treatment which enabled them to have a dignified and pain free death. Families and those that mattered to the person were supported to spend quality time with them.

Relatives were also able to access bereavement support following their family member�s death.

Responsive

Outstanding

Updated 12 January 2017

The service was very responsive.

People we spoke with told us they received care that was exceptionally responsive to their individual needs.

People said that they took part in, and enjoyed, a wide range of activities and therapies which were extremely beneficial to their care and support.

People were encouraged to provide feedback about the care they received from the hospice. Robust systems were in place to share lessons learned from complaints with staff and ensure any required changes in practice took place.

Well-led

Outstanding

Updated 12 January 2017

The service was very well-led.

People, relatives and other care professionals consistently offered exceptionally positive feedback about the excellent quality of care and the innovation and management of the hospice.

St Luke�s Hospice was continually striving for excellence through consultation, research, and reflective practice. The hospice was extremely forward thinking and had a number of new developments underway based on best or evidence based practice to improve care or develop new initiatives.

The service was actively involved in building local community links, took part in project work and close working wither other hospices and organisations at regional and national level. This was to promote excellent standards for palliative and end of life care.