You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 23 October 2018

This announced comprehensive inspection took place on 5 and 6 September 2018.

Nurseplus UK is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own homes in the community. It provides a service to older adults. Not everyone using Nurseplus received a regulated activity; CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with 'personal care'; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do, we also take into account any wider social care provided. At the time of this inspection 45 people were receiving personal care from the service. People who used the service lived in Newton Abbot and the surrounding areas.

The service had a registered manager. The registered manager for the service was also the registered manager of another branch of Nurseplus and was planning to de-register as registered manager of Nurseplus Newton Abbot. A new manager had recently been appointed to manage Nurseplus UK in Newton Abbot. The new manager told us they would be submitting and application to be the registered manager of this service. The new manager took the lead role during the inspection and was supported by the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Our last inspection of this service was on the 21 December 2015 and we rated the service good.

At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

People were very positive about the care they received from Nurseplus. People were supported in a kind and compassionate manner. They complimented the caring attitudes of staff. One person told us, “Definitely happy, I’ve been with other care companies for years and with Nurseplus for two years now and I would say they [carers] go over and beyond all the others.”

People felt safe when staff supported them in their own homes. Systems were in place for staff to follow which protected people and kept them safe. People were supported by staff who had received training in and understood how to protect them from any harm and abuse. Staff knew how to, and were confident in, reporting any concerns they may have about a person's safety.

People had received an assessment of their needs to ensure they were suitable for the service. Care plans were used to provide guidance to staff on how to safely meet people's needs. However, some care plans lacked person-centred detail. We made a recommendation to the provider about seeking advice and guidance in developing more person-centred care plans.

Associated risks for staff attending people's homes and for providing care and support to people, were assessed and managed through individual risk assessments. These provided staff with information to help keep both people and themselves safe from avoidable harm with minimal restrictions in place. However, specific risks related to complex health needs were not always in place. We made a recommendation to the provider about this.

Staff had the skills and knowledge to understand and support people's individual needs. These skills were kept up to date through regular training and staff were also supported in their roles from managers and colleagues.

People were supported by staff who were familiar to them. People knew in advance which staff member would attend their care visits which gave them reassurance. Care visits were monitored to make sure staff turned up and stayed for the agreed amount of time.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 23 October 2018

The service remains safe

Effective

Good

Updated 23 October 2018

The service remains effective

Caring

Good

Updated 23 October 2018

The service remains caring

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 October 2018

The service remains responsive

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 October 2018

The service remains well led