You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 9 November 2018

Desired Care 4 U is a domiciliary care service providing a service to people living in their own home. This announced inspection took place on 09 October 2018. We gave the provider 48 hours’ notice that we would be visiting the service because we wanted to make sure staff and people would be available for us to speak with. At the time of the inspection there were eighteen people using the service.

At our last inspection, on 14 June 2016, we rated the service Good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Staff had been trained in safeguarding vulnerable adults and health and safety policies and procedures. Staff knew what action to take if they identified any safety concerns during their work. General risks and risks to individuals were identified and action continued to be taken to reduce them, as far as possible.

Medicine was administered as safely as possible. Care staff followed the medication procedure, completed medicine care plans and recorded medicine administration. We found that care plans had details about medication and how to support people.

People benefitted from continuity of staff, to ensure that relationships were built and people did not have to endure different staff for their care. Staff had received ongoing training to ensure that their skills were updated with current knowledge. The service did not accept a package of care unless they were able to provide staffing to meet the individual’s needs safely. The service followed a recruitment process which ensured staff were recruited safely.

The service worked closely with health and other professionals to ensure people’s needs were met in the best way possible.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and care staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People continued to be supported by a committed and enthusiastic staff team who delivered care with kindness, respect and understanding. Staff told us they had built caring relationships with people and were able to meet their needs sensitively.

The service and care staff were aware of people’s equality and diversity needs and endeavoured to meet them.

The service was being flexible and responsive to people’s individual’s needs. It adapted and changed care packages in response to people’s choices and specific needs. People’s needs were regularly reviewed to ensure the care provided was up-to-date. Care plans included information to ensure people’s communication needs were understood.

The registered manager and the staff team were committed to ensuring there was no discrimination relating to staff or people in the service. The quality of care the service provided was continually assessed, reviewed and improved.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 9 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 9 November 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 9 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 9 November 2018

The service remain Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 9 November 2018

The service remains Good.