• Services in your home
  • Homecare service

Ocean Healthcare

Overall: Requires improvement

45 Devon Square, Newton Abbot, TQ12 2HH (01803) 470025

Provided and run by:
Taher Limited

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection summaries and ratings from previous provider

On this page

Background to this inspection

Updated 6 May 2020

The inspection

We carried out this inspection under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (the Act) as part of our regulatory functions. We checked whether the provider was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Act. We looked at the overall quality of the service and provided a rating for the service under the Care Act 2014.

Inspection team

The inspection team was one inspector, one assistant inspector and an Expert by Experience. The Expert by Experience was a person who has personal experience of using or caring for someone who uses this type of care service.

Service and service type

This service is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own homes.

The service had a manager registered with the Care Quality Commission. This means that they and the provider are legally responsible for how the service is run and for the quality and safety of the care provided.

Notice of inspection

This inspection was announced on 28 February 2020. The inspection activity started on 3 March 2020 and ended on 11 March 2020. This was to allow relatives, staff and professionals to submit written feedback. We visited the office location on 3 March 2020 and spoke with relatives between the 4 and 6 March 2020.

What we did before the inspection

Due to CQC’s technical problems, the provider was not able to complete a Provider Information Return (PIR). This is information we require providers to send us to give some key information about the service, what the service does well and improvements they plan to make. We took this into account when we inspected the service and made the judgements in this report.

We looked at information we held, information about the provider’s registration, statement of purpose and website. We used this information to plan our inspection.

During the inspection

We spoke with four relatives about their experience of the care provided. We spoke with the registered manager and provider. We also spoke with the service manager and the lead nurse, whose role included organising and supporting care staff.

We reviewed a range of records. This included three people’s care records and their medicine records. We looked at four staff files in relation to recruitment and staff supervision. A variety of records relating to the management of the service, including policies and procedures were reviewed. We also looked at training data and quality assurance records.

After the inspection

Due to the issues in respect of the PIR, more time was given for the provider and registered manager to submit further supporting information.

We received further clarification from the provider to validate evidence found in respect of the management of medicines. We received written feedback from 10 staff, two relatives and five professionals involved in those cared for by the service.

Overall inspection

Requires improvement

Updated 6 May 2020

About the service

Ocean Health Care (“Ocean”) is a care at home service providing personal care and nursing care to one adult and 14 children in their own homes. All those who are cared for by the service have complex, sometimes life limiting, conditions.

Not everyone who used the service received personal care. CQC only inspects where people receive personal care. This is to help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do, we also consider any wider social care provided.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

People had their medicines administered safely, however there needed to be some improvements to ensure the systems and recording were safe.

People received care that was personalised to their needs and preferences. This was assessed and planned with full involvement of the parent or carers. The parent or carers felt people were safe being cared for by the staff and that the staff were kind, caring and compassionate.

The systems of leadership and governance had been developing over the past 11 months since the service opened. People received good care and achieved personalised outcomes. The registered manager and provider were reflective in their approach and open to feedback in their drive to continually improve the quality of the service. They told us that improvements were still needed to embed this.

People’s care, and managing any risks, was planned with their parent/carer and where required with their key professional. Regular reviews took place and communication to staff, relatives and professionals had improved to ensure the details were up to date.

Staff worked closely with the parent/carer and key professionals to ensure health, food and fluid needs were met.

The one adult was supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Staff worked alongside the parents of the children to ensure parental responsibility was respected.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection

This service was registered with us on 28 March 2019 and this is the first inspection.

Why we inspected

This was a planned inspection based on the service’s registration date.

We have found evidence that the provider needs to make improvement. Please see the safe and well led sections of this full report.

Enforcement

We have identified a breach in relation to the records and systems in respect of medicines during this inspection.

Follow up

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.