You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 26 May 2018

We inspected this service on 30 April 2018. The inspection was unannounced. We informed the registered manager that we would continue our inspection on 1 May 2018, when we gained feedback from people by telephone conversations.

Highfield is one of eight services provided by Polesworth Group Homes Limited. Highfield is a purpose built bungalow which provides accommodation with personal care for up to five people with a learning disability. At the time of our visit, there were five people living in the home. The service also provides domiciliary care to 20 people with a learning disability in their own homes, some of whom require 24-hour support from staff.

At our last inspection in December 2015 we rated the service as good overall. However, we rated the effectiveness of the service as requires improvement because where people lacked capacity to make day to day decisions, mental capacity assessments had not always been completed. Neither had Deprivation of Liberty applications been made as required. At this inspection, we checked whether improvements had been made and found they had.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons.’ Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Staff had received training in the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and worked in line with this to promote people’s best interests. Staff offered choices to people and gained consent before, for example, supporting them with personal care.

People were safe from the risks of harm, because staff understood their responsibilities to protect people. Staff had been trained in what constituted abuse and would raise concerns under the provider’s safeguarding policies. The provider checked staff’s suitability to deliver care and support during the recruitment process.

There were enough staff on shift to support people safely and meet their individual needs. Staff received training and used their skills, knowledge and experience to provide effective and responsive care.

People’s needs were assessed before they moved to live at the purpose built bungalow or receive a domiciliary care service in their own home. Risks to people’s safety and wellbeing were assessed and plans were in place to reduce these. Accidents and incidents were recorded by staff and investigated and actions taken to minimise the risks of reoccurrence.

People were supported to eat and drink enough and staff promoted healthy choices around food.

People were very relaxed in the presence of care staff and the registered manager. Staff were friendly toward people, showing respect toward them and that people were valued in the home. Staff knew people well and how to meet their needs.

People were able to take part in individual leisure activities according to their preferences. There were also opportunities for people with shared interests to do activities in a group.

Staff were happy in their job role and felt well supported by the team and the registered manager. Staff felt listened to and able to contribute to the way the service was delivered.

People and their relatives had no complaints about the service. They felt the registered manager would deal with any concern if they needed to raise something.

The registered manager and provider carried out a range of quality audits to ensure people received safe, effective and responsive care that met their individual needs.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 26 May 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 26 May 2018

The service improved to effective.

Where people lacked capacity to make day to day decisions, assessments had been completed in line with the Mental Capacity Act 2005. Deprivation of Liberty applications had been made when required. Staff gained consent from people and worked within the remit of the Mental Capacity Act.

Staff were safely recruited and undertook detailed training which gave them the skills they needed for their job role. People were offered choices about what they ate and drank and were supported to receive the support they needed from healthcare professionals.

Caring

Good

Updated 26 May 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 26 May 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 26 May 2018

The service remains Good.