You are here

Archived: National Slimming & Cosmetic Clinics

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 21 February 2019

We carried out an unannounced focussed inspection on 15 January 2019 to ask the service the following key questions; Are services safe, effective and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this service was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Are services effective?

We found that this service was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Are services well-led?

We found that this service was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations

We carried out this inspection under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. This inspection was planned to check whether the service was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

CQC inspected the service on 28 November and 15 December 2017, and again on 19 June 2018 and asked the provider to make improvements regarding medicines that were not prescribed in line with the provider’s policy with no information in the records to explain the decision to prescribe. Also clinical audits were not completed at the frequency detailed in the policy and had not picked up all of the issues. We checked these areas as part of this focussed inspection and found this had been resolved.

Our key findings were:

  • We saw that improvements had been made in medical record keeping and prescribing practices
  • A system was in place to ensure the effective monitoring and quality improvement of service being provided at the clinic.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements and should:

  • Only supply unlicensed medicines against valid special clinical needs of an individual patient where there is no suitable licensed medicine available

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGPChief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 21 February 2019

Effective

Updated 21 February 2019

Caring

Updated 21 February 2019

Responsive

Updated 21 February 2019

Well-led

Updated 21 February 2019