You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 June 2018

We inspected Acorn Hove on 24 April 2018. Acorn Hove is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Acorn Hove is registered to accommodate up to 12 people, some of whom were living with dementia, a learning disability and other long standing conditions. Acorn Hove is comprised over three floors, with a kitchen, lounge and dining area. There were 11 people living at the service during our inspection.

At the last inspection on 17 & 18 June 2015, we rated the service as good, However, we identified some concerns in relation to the way medicines were managed. We asked the provider to take action to make improvements and this action has been completed. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns.

Medicines were managed safely and in accordance with current regulations and guidance. There were systems in place to ensure that medicines had been stored, administered, audited and reviewed appropriately.

A registered manager was in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We have made a recommendation about systems being implemented to comply with the Accessible Information Standards (AIS).

People were happy and relaxed with staff. They said they felt safe and there were sufficient staff to support them. When staff were recruited, their employment history was checked and references obtained. Checks were also undertaken to ensure new staff were safe to work within the care sector.

Staff were knowledgeable and trained in safeguarding adults and what action they should take if they suspected abuse was taking place. Staff had a good understanding of equality, diversity and human rights.

Risks associated with the environment and equipment had been identified and managed. Emergency procedures were in place in the event of fire and people knew what to do, as did the staff.

Staff had received essential training and there were opportunities for additional training specific to the needs of the service, including managing behaviour that may challenge others and awareness of autism. Staff had received both supervision meetings with their manager, and formal personal development plans, such as annual appraisals were in place.

People were being supported to make decisions in their best interests. The registered manager and staff had received training in the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS). Accidents and incidents were recorded appropriately and steps taken to minimise the risk of similar events happening in the future.

People felt well looked after and supported. We observed friendly relationships had developed between people and staff. Care plans described people’s preferences and needs in relevant areas, including communication, and they were encouraged to be as independent as possible. People’s end of life care was discussed and planned and their wishes had been respected.

People were encouraged and supported to eat and drink well. There was a varied daily choice of meals and people could give feedback and have choice in what they ate and drank. Health care was accessible for people and appointments were made for regular check-ups as needed.

People were encouraged to express their views and they said they felt listened to and any concerns or issues they raised were addressed. People's individual needs were met by the adaptation of the prem

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 14 June 2018

The service has improved to Good

Effective

Good

Updated 14 June 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 14 June 2018

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 14 June 2018

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 14 June 2018

The service remains Good