You are here

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

We are carrying out a review of quality at Bluebell Centre. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 May 2017

The Bluebell Centre is a reablemant service which provides support to people in their own homes. At the time of our visit 35 people were using the service. The reablemant service involves a multi-disciplinary approach involving support workers, social workers and occupational therapists agreeing a programme of intensive support for people with the aim of skilling them or re-skilling them to manage the activities of daily living. It is particularly used for people who need support to help regain skills and confidence after being discharged from hospital. The service is generally provided for a period of six weeks to 12 weeks dependent on the individual’s needs.

We visited the offices of the Bluebell Centre on 16 March 2017. We last inspected this service on 10 September 2015 and rated the service as Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Pre-employment checks were completed for all new staff to check that they were suitable to work with people who used the service. There were enough staff employed to meet people’s needs and to attend each call. People were kept safe by support workers who had received training on how to recognise and report any suspected abuse. Risks related to people’s care were assessed and procedures were put in place to minimise the risks. Procedures were in place to support people safely when they took their medicines.

Support workers received training to support people effectively. The registered manager understood the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and support workers understood the need to gain people’s consent before providing care. Referrals were made to health and social care professionals when needed to make sure people received the support they needed.

People received support from support workers that they described as kind who helped them to achieve their goals to regain their independence. Support workers understood the importance of respecting people’s dignity.

People were involved in planning their care and this was reviewed continually to meet their needs. Support workers had good knowledge of people’s preferences and offered choices. People knew how to raise concerns and felt confident to do so however no complaints had been received by the service in the 12 months prior to our visit.

Support workers received support from the registered manager to deliver high quality care. People were given opportunities to give their feedback about the service and this was analysed to make sure that the service continued to meet people’s needs. The registered manager completed regular quality assurance checks to promote continual improvement within the service.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 May 2017

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 10 May 2017

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 10 May 2017

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 May 2017

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 May 2017

The service remains Good