Evidence categories for sector groups

Evidence categories for sector groups

We have listed the key evidence categories by sector groups. We’ll prioritise collecting evidence in these categories as part of our assessments. These lists are a guide, not a checklist.

We will collect evidence in all the key evidence categories for a particular quality statement:

  • for our first assessments under the new approach
  • following new registrations.

We may also look at other categories if evidence suggests that we need to.

We will only look at every key evidence category when:

  • we carry out the first assessment of a service using our new approach
  • new services registering with us for the first time.

For future assessments of these services we may review evidence in specific categories.

There are small differences between which evidence categories we look at within sector groups. In each list we have marked where categories only apply to certain services.

We can tailor the assessment framework by selecting different evidence categories between sectors. We will look at different evidence types under each category to tailor assessments further. The evidence available will vary between services. For example:

  • each core service in NHS acute hospitals will have different types
  • services operate in different ways yet have similar key evidence categories - for example care homes and supported living services.

We're engaging with providers on the detail of this guidance and will improve this information following feedback.

We list the sectors against which we've set out evidence categories on the assessment index page (see section 4).