You are here

Archived: Castle Park

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 19, 20 May 2013
Date of Publication: 21 June 2013
Inspection Report published 21 June 2013 PDF | 111.9 KB

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 19 May 2013 and 20 May 2013, observed how people were being cared for and checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care. We talked with people who use the service, talked with carers and / or family members, talked with staff and received feedback from people using comment cards. We talked with commissioners of services.

On the first day of the inspection we were accompanied by a representative from the Integrated Commissioning Unit at Derby City Council.

Our judgement

People were cared for by staff who were supported to deliver care and treatment safely and to an appropriate standard.

Reasons for our judgement

People using the service and their relatives were mostly positive in their comments about staff. They told us “staff are quite nice” and “they are lovely, very helpful and supportive”. One person told us"most of the staff are ok, but there are one or two who can be snappy".

We spoke with six members of staff. They told us that they enjoyed working at the home. Staff told us that they had access to training relevant to their roles.

We looked at the homes supervision records. The registered manager told us that staff should be supervised at least “six times a year”. The records showed us that the majority of staff had received supervision in line with the provider's policy. We were told that staff were not subject to annual appraisal of their performance at the time of our inspection. The provider’s quality manager stated that there were plans to introduce an appraisal system in 2013.

We were told that the provider had a programme of mandatory training which included emergency procedures, food safety, health and safety, manual handling, understanding equality and diversity and safer people handling. Other training recorded in the homes training data records included fire drills, pressure care and understanding safe handling of medication. Nursing staff we spoke with told us that they were supported by the manager and the provider to maintain their professional registration.

Although we saw evidence that most staff had completed their basic training, the provider may wish to note that not all staff were up to date with mandatory refresher training. For example 37% of the staff team had not completed their refresher training on infection control, 34% of staff had not completed their refresher training on safeguarding vulnerable people. The registered manager told us that all staff who did not complete the mandatory refresher training by a specified date had been told that they would not be offered further shifts at the home.

We saw that seven care staff had achieved a national Vocational Qualification (NVQ)

in Health and Social Care at level two or above.

During our inspection in November 2012 we observed occasions where staff were observed to not treat people with dignity or provide them with choices. In their action plan sent to the CQC in December 2012, the provider told us that they would ensure that all staff attended customer care training in January 2013. During this inspection we were told that there had been some difficulties accessing this training but that staff had been booked to attend the training on 28-31 May 2013. This showed us that staff were enabled to take part in training that is relevant and appropriate to their role.